The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 06:57pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
IAABO Refresher Exam

Sometime after Dec. 01st there was a thread regarding a question on this year's IAABO Refresher Exam. I made a post in the thread that I would get a hold of Roger MacTavish and discuss the quesiton with him. Unfortunately life outside of basketball intervened and I have yet to get in touch with Roger. To make matters worse I cannot remember the question number nor can I remember the thread. And no senile old geezer jokes from you young whippersnappers either, . So if somebody can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 07:10pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Sometime after Dec. 01st there was a thread regarding a question on this year's IAABO Refresher Exam. I made a post in the thread that I would get a hold of Roger MacTavish and discuss the quesiton with him. Unfortunately life outside of basketball intervened and I have yet to get in touch with Roger. To make matters worse I cannot remember the question number nor can I remember the thread. And no senile old geezer jokes from you young whippersnappers either, . So if somebody can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.
I think it had to do with one of the first 75 questions.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 08:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
I think it had to do with one of the first 75 questions.

Not funny because I was making a serious request.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 08:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
"That's all I can stands, I can't stands no more! (Popeye) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Sometime after Dec. 1st there was a thread regarding a question on this year's IAABO Refresher Exam. I made a post in the thread that I would get a hold of Roger MacTavish and discuss the question with him. To make matters worse I cannot remember the question number nor can I remember the thread. So if somebody can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
I remember your post, and your generous offer, and the fact that I was looking forward to your update, but I can't find your post, even using the Advanced Search function.

So, why don't you start with this question? I thought that one of the guidelines for goaltending was that it had to be a try. I got this one wrong, and, "I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!":

2008-09 IAABO Refresher Exam
7. A-1, from behind the 3 point line, throws the ball toward his/her basket for a catch and dunk. The ball is on its downward flight outside the cylinder above the ring level and in the judgment of the official has a chance of entering the basket when A-2 catches the ball and dunks it. The official rules this is goaltending and disallows the basket. Is the official correct?
7. Yes Rule 5 Section 2 Art 1; Rule 4 Section 22, Rule 9 Section 12

To me, throwing the ball toward the basket for a catch and dunk is a pass, not a try.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 21, 2008 at 09:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 09:23pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
That one was discussed at length at our meeting. Our interpreter just finished a 4 year stint on the rules committee. There were a couple of others as well. Not sure if the national website has them posted yet. They had a couple last year that were argued with the test author including one regarding a kicked ball on an AP arrow throw-in and the disagreement led to some clarification that the throw in was not legally completed so the new throw was on the violation. And the AP arrow does not change.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 11:18pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I remember your post, and your generous offer, and the fact that I was looking forward to your update, but I can't find your post, even using the Advanced Search function.

So, why don't you start with this question? I thought that one of the guidelines for goaltending was that it had to be a try. I got this one wrong, and, "I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!":

2008-09 IAABO Refresher Exam
7. A-1, from behind the 3 point line, throws the ball toward his/her basket for a catch and dunk. The ball is on its downward flight outside the cylinder above the ring level and in the judgment of the official has a chance of entering the basket when A-2 catches the ball and dunks it. The official rules this is goaltending and disallows the basket. Is the official correct?
7. Yes Rule 5 Section 2 Art 1; Rule 4 Section 22, Rule 9 Section 12

To me, throwing the ball toward the basket for a catch and dunk is a pass, not a try.

BillyMac:

That is a good one. I have been lax this year in my preseason reading and was going over the Exam Thursday night while watching Andy go through swim practice and the the answer to the question hit me in the face like a cement block. It is on my list of questions that I will discuss with Roger.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 11:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Mark,

One that we discussed at length on the NFHS forum was:

55. A-1’s pass is in flight to A-2 when A-3 and B-3 commit a double personal foul. The official awards the ball back to team A nearest the spot the ball was located when the fouls occurred. Is the official correct?

55. No Rule 4 Section 36 Art 2a; Rule 4 Section 12 Art 2

One member who "spoke IABBO" said that the question denoted the physical location that the ball was over but location could also be where A1 had the ball in PC when the pass was made, which would mean the official in the question was correct.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:44pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Here's My Thought ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shishstripes View Post
55. A-1’s pass is in flight to A-2 when A-3 and B-3 commit a double personal foul. The official awards the ball back to team A nearest the spot the ball was located when the fouls occurred. Is the official correct?
55. No Rule 4 Section 36 Art 2a; Rule 4 Section 12 Art 2
Any thoughts?
4-4-3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last
in contact with a player or the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
I understand the rule and applying it, I say the answer is wrong. Official should inbound at the location of the ball at the time of the fouls, which is where A1 had it last. Should the question be read differently?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by shishstripes View Post
55. No Rule 4 Section 36 Art 2a; Rule 4 Section 12 Art 2

One member who "spoke IABBO" said that the question denoted the physical location that the ball was over but location could also be where A1 had the ball in PC when the pass was made, which would mean the official in the question was correct.
There is no way the IAABO answer is correct. The question tests two things: what happens when you have a double foul (Answer: Point of interruption [4-36-2a]) and who has control when the ball is being passed between teammates (Answer: team control remains with Team A, [4-12-2]).

The language from the question: "The official awards the ball back to team A nearest the spot the ball was located when the fouls occurred" is nearly verbatim from the rule cited for point of interruption: a throw-in to the team that was in control "at a spot nearest to where the ball was located" when play was interrupted.

If the question sought to test knowledge of "ball location," then the answer key would have cited 4-4-3: a ball in flight retains the location of the player who last touched it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 06:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Poorly Worded Question, And/Or Answer Citation ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
If the question sought to test knowledge of "ball location," then the answer key would have cited 4-4-3: a ball in flight retains the location of the player who last touched it.
Agree. Poorly worded question. Can it be fixed?

55. A-1’s pass is in flight to A-2 when A-3 and B-3 commit a double personal foul. The official awards the ball back to team A nearest the spot the ball was, midway between A-2, and A-3, when the fouls occurred. Is the official correct?

55. No Rule 4 Section 36 Art 2a; Rule 4 Section 12 Art 2; 4-4-3:

How's that. Better?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 23, 2008 at 09:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 08:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
First Marked Lane Spaces, And Fight Starters ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
That is a good one. I have been lax this year in my preseason reading and was going over the Exam Thursday night while watching Andy go through swim practice and the the answer to the question hit me in the face like a cement block. It is on my list of questions that I will discuss with Roger.
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr: Could you take a look at these two questions also:

36 Team A is awarded a free throw. B-1 and B-2 are occupying the marked lane spaces closest to the end line. The official rules that B-1 and B-2 are occupying the proper lane spaces. Is the official correct?
36. No Rule 8 Section 1 Art 4b.c.d
According to 8-1-4c, the first marked lane spaces on each side of the lane, above and adjacent to the neutral-zone marks, shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower. 8-1-4b states that the lane areas from the end line up to, and including, the neutral-zone marks, shall remain vacant. Question 36 clearly states marked lane “spaces” closest to the endline, not marked lane “areas”, so, in my opinion, the official was correct, and the correct answer to question 36 should be yes.

74. A-1 and B-1 begin to fight while the ball is live. A-6 and A-7 leave the bench to enter the playing court. B-6 also enters the playing court and begins fighting with A-6. The official rules a flagrant technical foul on A-6, A-7 and B-6, charges team A with three team fouls, team B with two team fouls, charges the coach of team A with two indirect technical fouls, team B’s coach with one indirect technical foul, awards team B two free throws, followed by the ball for a division line throw-in. Is the official correct?
74. Yes Rule 10 Section 4 Art 5 Penalty; Rule 10 Section 4 Art 1g; Rule 10 Section 6 Penalty 8a (1) 8b (1) (2)
The official, in this very complicated situation, appears to penalize everything that occurred correctly: flagrant technical foul on A-6, A-7 and B-6, team A charged with three team fouls, team B with two team fouls, coach of team A charged with two indirect technical fouls, team B’s coach with one indirect technical foul, awards team B two free throws, followed by the ball for a division line throw-in. However, the official did not penalize "A-1 and B-1", who started this whole mess by fighting while the ball was live, with flagrant double personal fouls, so, in my opinion, the official was incorrect, and the correct answer should be no.

Thanks. Merry Christmas.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr: Could you take a look at these two questions also:

36 Team A is awarded a free throw. B-1 and B-2 are occupying the marked lane spaces closest to the end line. The official rules that B-1 and B-2 are occupying the proper lane spaces. Is the official correct?
36. No Rule 8 Section 1 Art 4b.c.d
According to 8-1-4c, the first marked lane spaces on each side of the lane, above and adjacent to the neutral-zone marks, shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower. 8-1-4b states that the lane areas from the end line up to, and including, the neutral-zone marks, shall remain vacant. Question 36 clearly states marked lane “spaces” closest to the endline, not marked lane “areas”, so, in my opinion, the official was correct, and the correct answer to question 36 should be yes.

74. A-1 and B-1 begin to fight while the ball is live. A-6 and A-7 leave the bench to enter the playing court. B-6 also enters the playing court and begins fighting with A-6. The official rules a flagrant technical foul on A-6, A-7 and B-6, charges team A with three team fouls, team B with two team fouls, charges the coach of team A with two indirect technical fouls, team B’s coach with one indirect technical foul, awards team B two free throws, followed by the ball for a division line throw-in. Is the official correct?
74. Yes Rule 10 Section 4 Art 5 Penalty; Rule 10 Section 4 Art 1g; Rule 10 Section 6 Penalty 8a (1) 8b (1) (2)
The official, in this very complicated situation, appears to penalize everything that occurred correctly: flagrant technical foul on A-6, A-7 and B-6, team A charged with three team fouls, team B with two team fouls, coach of team A charged with two indirect technical fouls, team B’s coach with one indirect technical foul, awards team B two free throws, followed by the ball for a division line throw-in. However, the official did not penalize "A-1 and B-1", who started this whole mess by fighting while the ball was live, with flagrant double personal fouls, so, in my opinion, the official was incorrect, and the correct answer should be no.

Thanks. Merry Christmas.
Both answers seem right to me.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
How, Please ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Both answers seem right to me.
How can the official be correct when he failed to penalize the two players who started the fight?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
How, Please ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Both answers seem right to me.
Team A is awarded a free throw. B-1 and B-2 are occupying the marked lane spaces closest to the end line. The official rules that B-1 and B-2 are occupying the proper lane spaces. Is the official correct?

How is he wrong?

Endline-Vacant Lane Area-Neutral Zone Mark-Marked Lane Space (Closest To Endline)-Second Marked Lane Space ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 25, 2008 at 10:07pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam 2006 NO ANSWERS, available via email RefLarry Basketball 24 Mon Nov 13, 2006 07:19pm
IAABO 2004 Refresher Exam Answers Jeff the Ref Basketball 2 Wed Nov 17, 2004 01:12am
Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam Joel Poli Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm
1998 IAABO Refresher Exam Answers POShea Basketball 0 Fri Jan 28, 2000 03:52pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1