The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfdesigner View Post
If I am understanding your description, I believe your understanding of two steps is not correct.
Here is case book quote [I have added the emphasis]:

4.44.3 SITUATION C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the
pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out.

When A1 has right foot on floor when picking up dribble, that's the pivot foot (see highlight below). A1 can step with the left, and pick up the right (pivot foot), but A1 must either pass or shoot before the pivot foot touches the floor again. This would be your so called second step.

Here is the Rule Book Quote:
4-44
ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop,
and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land
on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both.
Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is
released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
ART. 4 . . . After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before
the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.


The NBA may let these two steps go, but under NFHS when that right foot hits again, I got a violation.
Okay, I might be referring to the NBA. I did not know that in NFHS, you're only allowed to take one step. This is completely new to me, and it seems like it would be pretty tough to adjust to that kind of rule. I don't even know how you'd be able to generate any kind of rhythm laying it up, when you can only take one step.

So you're saying this would be illegal in NFHS?

YouTube - Kobe Bryant cross-over layup Team USA vs Argentina

In the video, Kobe Bryant makes his last dribble with his left foot on the floor, takes TWO STEPS and lays it in.

Last edited by greatgamer; Sun Dec 21, 2008 at 09:41am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traveling Question. ca_rumperee Basketball 5 Sun Mar 16, 2008 09:21pm
Traveling Question # 623 Larks Basketball 31 Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm
traveling question pitchfork Basketball 17 Fri Dec 22, 2006 06:10pm
Traveling Question hendoo_32 Basketball 18 Fri Feb 27, 2004 11:23am
Another traveling question dsturdy5 Basketball 27 Mon Dec 09, 2002 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1