![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
What You Have is a Traveling Violation
If I am understanding your description, I believe your understanding of two steps is not correct.
Here is case book quote [I have added the emphasis]: 4.44.3 SITUATION C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out. When A1 has right foot on floor when picking up dribble, that's the pivot foot (see highlight below). A1 can step with the left, and pick up the right (pivot foot), but A1 must either pass or shoot before the pivot foot touches the floor again. This would be your so called second step. Here is the Rule Book Quote: 4-44 ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows: a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands: 1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot. 2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot. 3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. b. If one foot is on the floor: 1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step. 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble. ART. 4 . . . After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot: a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble. The NBA may let these two steps go, but under NFHS when that right foot hits again, I got a violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() So you're saying this would be illegal in NFHS? YouTube - Kobe Bryant cross-over layup Team USA vs Argentina In the video, Kobe Bryant makes his last dribble with his left foot on the floor, takes TWO STEPS and lays it in. Last edited by greatgamer; Sun Dec 21, 2008 at 09:41am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is no traveling violation here. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
WOW! You're right! Knowing it was Kobe, I just assumed the play was illegal. All is not lost, though. Dial up some Lebron video. You will see a travel soon enough.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Yeah, Lebron James is the worst traveler in the NBA, and he gets away with it every time. Amazes me how hard everyone rides on that guy's broomstick. Kobe doesn't travel, or palm the ball like Wade.
|
|
|||
|
I sometimes tell the captains in the pregame: Guys, every time you watch Lebron James on tv, you learn a new move (pause) which will be illegal in this game tonight. I think at least some of them get it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Ciao |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Traveling Question. | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 5 | Sun Mar 16, 2008 09:21pm |
| Traveling Question # 623 | Larks | Basketball | 31 | Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm |
| traveling question | pitchfork | Basketball | 17 | Fri Dec 22, 2006 06:10pm |
| Traveling Question | hendoo_32 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Feb 27, 2004 11:23am |
| Another traveling question | dsturdy5 | Basketball | 27 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 12:46pm |