The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Backcourt question (sorry)

A1 has the ball for a throw-in in A's front court. He passed the ball toward the backcourt. A2 jumps from the front court and secures the ball while in the air and turns and passes (without touching the floor) to a team mate (A3) who is standing in the back court. Violation? Play on?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Backcourt violation - Team A has caused the ball to travel from the front court to the backcourt, whilst team control has been maintained.
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
If he had kept the ball and landed in the backcourt, no violation. When he passsed the ball the exception granted for a throw in ends and is only for the initial touch on the ball. this only applies in no team control situ. (jump ball throw-in)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
If he had kept the ball and landed in the backcourt, no violation. When he passsed the ball the exception granted for a throw in ends and is only for the initial touch on the ball. this only applies in no team control situ. (jump ball throw-in)
Hang on, but OP said that the inbound was from the front court....doesn't this mean that it is a backcourt regardless? (it would be for FIBA)
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
NFHS 9-9-3. a player from the team not in control(defencive player or durring a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no differenc weather the first foot is in the frontcourt or backcourt. Am I misunderstanding this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 11:46pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
If he had kept the ball and landed in the backcourt, no violation. When he passsed the ball the exception granted for a throw in ends and is only for the initial touch on the ball. this only applies in no team control situ. (jump ball throw-in)
Citation for a jump ball throw-in?

What about any throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 01:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
I left out a comma. It should be jump ball, throw in. Is that better.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 03:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardwood View Post
A1 has the ball for a throw-in in A's front court. He passed the ball toward the backcourt. A2 jumps from the front court and secures the ball while in the air and turns and passes (without touching the floor) to a team mate (A3) who is standing in the back court. Violation? Play on?
Straight from last year's part 1 exam.
100.


It is a violation if, on A1's throw-in pass. A2 jumps from A's frontcourt and while airborne, catches the throw-in and immediately passes to A3, who is standing in A's backcourt. True 9-9-1; 4-12-2

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz Referee View Post
Hang on, but OP said that the inbound was from the front court....doesn't this mean that it is a backcourt regardless? (it would be for FIBA)
I'll see if I can convert this to metric...

In NFHS and NCAA, the throw-in spot is not considered front court or back court, simply OOB. Front court and back court are specifically the inbounds areas. Iirc, in FIBA, if the ball goes OOB next to the front court, the throw-in has to go back into the front court, correct? In NFHS and NCAA, that isn't the case; the throw-in can go anywhere inbounds.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another backcourt question Vinski Basketball 12 Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:16pm
Backcourt Question bigdog5142 Basketball 78 Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:20am
backcourt question timharris Basketball 7 Sun Jan 09, 2005 12:14pm
Another Backcourt Question DrC. Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2000 11:01pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1