The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Violation on jump ball

On the opening tip A1 jumps up and catches the jump ball. By so doing he/she gains possession but according to 9-3-7c he/she commits a violation.

So would the alternating possession be awarded to team B (because A secured the jump ball) and then a violation would also be called and B would basically start with the ball and get the next held ball or would team A get the alternating possession even though they gained possession, but by so doing caused a violation?

Any references to clarify would be great!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:38am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
6.4.1.D B gets the ball. A gets the arrow.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 02:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Similar to starting the game off with a T, the throw-in establishes the AP, T on team A: Ball to B, arrow to A.

Somebody once explained it to me as there is no double jeopardy.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
On the opening tip A1 jumps up and catches the jump ball. By so doing he/she gains possession but according to 9-3-7c he/she commits a violation.

So would the alternating possession be awarded to team B (because A secured the jump ball) and then a violation would also be called and B would basically start with the ball and get the next held ball or would team A get the alternating possession even though they gained possession, but by so doing caused a violation?

Any references to clarify would be great!

Thanks
What you have inquired about was the old way. The rule was changed back in 2002-03.
You can see that there is now an exception for this specific situation in the player control rule 4-12-1.
So the jumper DOES NOT establish control by catching the ball. It is merely a violation, and the opponent is awarded a throw-in, but the violating team will get the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower from the opposing team.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
the violating team will get the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower from the opposing team.

Are you sure? I don't believe the arrow is set until the throw-in ends or the team taking the ball out violates.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:44am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Are you sure? I don't believe the arrow is set until the throw-in ends or the team taking the ball out violates.
He's sure, read the rule he gave you.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Are you sure? I don't believe the arrow is set until the throw-in ends or the team taking the ball out violates.
That is when the arrow gets REVERSED. In this situation we are concerned with when the arrow gets initially set. Two different things.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:09am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Are you sure?
He don't know Nevada very good, do he?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
He don't know Nevada very good, do he?
Yeah, if there's one thing Nevada always is, it's "sure."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Are you sure? I don't believe the arrow is set until the throw-in ends or the team taking the ball out violates.
LOL Oh he's sure.....
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 519
On this play, does the clock start when its touched by someone or soemthing other than the jumper or does it start when the jumper touches it?

I can't find that in the rulebook.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
On this play, does the clock start when its touched by someone or soemthing other than the jumper or does it start when the jumper touches it?

I can't find that in the rulebook.
When the jumper touches it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
On this play, does the clock start when its touched by someone or soemthing other than the jumper or does it start when the jumper touches it?

I can't find that in the rulebook.
5-9-2.

Always listen to Bob. (11-1-1)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 06:24pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Are you sure? I don't believe the arrow is set until the throw-in ends or the team taking the ball out violates.
BD

Think of it this way...

If on the throw-in the thrower stuck the ball through the plane and the defender grabbed it - a held ball is whistled. Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred who would get the ball? You wouldn't send those two to the center to jump. Therefore, the arrow must be set when it's placed at the disposal of the thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
5-9-2.

Always listen to Bob. (11-1-1)
Thanks, gentlemen.

5-9-2 says "legally touched."

So, if a jumper gets whistled for hitting the ball on the way up would the clock not start. I ask because many timers seem to go on their own without waiting for the officials to start the clock. So, if this is not a legal touch and the timer started the clock, do I have him/her reset it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump Ball Violation mbloise Basketball 6 Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:05pm
Jump ball violation Adam Basketball 10 Mon Feb 16, 2004 12:41pm
Jump Ball Violation or Do-Over ranjo Basketball 3 Fri Sep 27, 2002 03:00pm
Jump Ball Violation DrC. Basketball 21 Sun Feb 03, 2002 01:58pm
Jump Ball Violation w_sohl Basketball 2 Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1