The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
What you did by allowing them to play the wrong way was outside the rules, therefore I think you did the right thing by following the case play in which everyone believes they are going the right way.
First off how did you and your partner line up to start the quarter, I will assume correctly, since you were looking for the "trick play".

If you lined up correctly and they go the wrong way, it isn't your job to stop them, what if it was a two point game and that mistake would tie the score, a tie game with seconds to play for the title of the world, for what reason by rule are you stoping the game?

If you point the correct direction and are lined up properly and the players go the wrong way - you do not have the authority by rule to stop them.

Permitting them to go the wrong way IMHO means you the official are responsible for the incorrect directions they are going.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
[QUOTE=OHBBREF;554433]First off how did you and your partner line up to start the quarter, I will assume correctly, since you were looking for the "trick play".

[QUOTE]

I was the R and was to the Team A backcourt side of the thrower. My partner did not go to the Team A's baseline, rather he stayed at about mid court. Not where I go, but I also don't think his position was incorrect either.

I thought about (in the future if this happens again) blowing it dead as soon as it is apparent that they believe they are going that way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
[QUOTE=Texref;554434][QUOTE=OHBBREF;554433]First off how did you and your partner line up to start the quarter, I will assume correctly, since you were looking for the "trick play".

Quote:

I was the R and was to the Team A backcourt side of the thrower. My partner did not go to the Team A's baseline, rather he stayed at about mid court. Not where I go, but I also don't think his position was incorrect either.

I thought about (in the future if this happens again) blowing it dead as soon as it is apparent that they believe they are going that way.
If it's apparent everyone is playing backwards, blow it dead and set them straight.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's apparent everyone is playing backwards, blow it dead and set them straight.
Ok, so in the future I'll do that, but what would you have done in the situation presented?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
Ok, so in the future I'll do that, but what would you have done in the situation presented?
Exactly as you did, based on the same case play you mentioned. I disagree that you did it wrong (other than letting play continue).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Exactly as you did, based on the same case play you mentioned. I disagree that you did it wrong (other than letting play continue).
So what you are saying is thatif team A inbounds on the base line in their backcourt after a timeout, and Team B is pressing - A1 inbounds to A3 who is cutting toward the baseline and then just drives to hoop and throws toward the basket you realize that they are going the wrong way so are you going to stop it?

if you line them up right you are not responsible for what they do after that point.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.

Last edited by OHBBREF; Mon Dec 01, 2008 at 05:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
So what you are saying is thatif team A inbounds on the base line in their backcourt after a timeout, and Team B is pressing - A1 inbounds to A3 who is cutting toward the baseline and then just drives to hoop and throws toward the basket you realize that they are going the wrong way so are you going to stop it?

if you line them up right you are not responsible for what they do after that point.
Completely different play -- there's a difference between one team being confused and both teams being confused.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
So what you are saying is thatif team A inbounds on the base line in their backcourt after a timeout, and Team B is pressing - A1 inbounds to A3 who is cutting toward the baseline and then just drives to hoop and throws toward the basket you realize that they are going the wrong way so are you going to stop it?

if you line them up right you are not responsible for what they do after that point.
The rules say which basket each team is to shoot towards with relation to their benches based on the half of play. If they're both playing incorrectly, it's your job to fix it; you have to intervene if they are both playing it incorrectly. If you don't realize it until the ball goes in the hoop, give the points to the team that made the basket and..... basically, use the case play for the same error at the beginning of the game.

If you realize it sooner, fix it. As Bob said, it's completely different than if only one team is confused. In that case, you let it play out, give the points to the team whose basket was scored in, and give the ball to the team that just put the ball in the hole for their endline throwin.

Otherwise, if both teams are confused, you'd have to call a violation on B for taking the ball out after A makes the basket in the wrong hoop. Or on A (5 seconds) if B knows what they're doing and just lets it bounce.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
[QUOTE=Snaqwells;554435][QUOTE=Texref;554434]
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
First off how did you and your partner line up to start the quarter, I will assume correctly, since you were looking for the "trick play".



If it's apparent everyone is playing backwards, blow it dead and set them straight.
I totally agree with the your comment about immediately blowing the play dead as soon as we knew they were going the wrong way. It was our intent to allow Team A the opportunity to run whatever "trick" play they wanted...even though it was surprising they might try it under these circumstances (Team A up by...well...a bunch). As Texref stated above, once we saw Team A's alignment (all 4 non-throwers in Team A's BC), I took up a position at mid-court near the table. From this position I could: 1.) Watch the non-throwers during the throw-in; and, 2.) Follow the players on any break to Team A's basket during the anticipated "Hail Mary" throw-in.

I remember still being puzzled by Team A's alignment as the throw-in was occurring. Then when the throw-in went into the BC...I remember trying to look for a different type of play. Maybe Team A was trying something different due to all the new players that had just come off the bench. Some of you may know the feeling...as an unusual or unexpected play unfolds. There's not much time to really THINK about what's happening...just that it feels really wrong.

But then Player A1 pulled up suddenly...from maybe 4 to 6 feet behind the 3-point line...and drained it. I think Texref was correct when he said that there was about 7:53 on the clock when we blew the play dead. If you estimate that the shooting motion and ball flight took up about 2 or 3 of the 7 seconds that ran off the clock...that would mean we only had about 4 or 5 seconds to figure out that Team A: 1.) Was not running the expected "Hail Mary" play; 2.) Did not have an alternate play in mind (to free up a player going toward their basket); and, 3.) Team A really was trying to go for the wrong bucket. I should have been the one to blow the play dead...

As I said previously, it 's possible that the early game might have caused my reflexes to be slower than normal and I might otherwise have been quick enough to blow the play in time. But I keep thinking about the night before...and the 3 OT's Texref and I had. Did I tell Texref...??? No, wait...I'm positive I told Texref about my no OT policy. Yes...I'm sure it's Texref's fault that this play unfolded the way it did. Whew...that was close...!!! I thought for a moment that maybe it was my fault...(JK).
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
[QUOTE=Texref;554434]
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
I thought about (in the future if this happens again) blowing it dead as soon as it is apparent that they believe they are going that way.
Again, please -site a rule, a case play or something that says after you told them the correct direction to go, that authorizes you to stop the action and prevent a team from going the wrong way?
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Before I hand the ball off to the thrower starting a period, I ALWAYS point the direction ("White ball going this direction" *insert pointing finger that way*). I do it just before I hand the ball off.

However if the thrower put the ball in play into the team's BC, there is nothing to be done. I don't believe there is anything the official can do until there is a dead ball (ie made basket, violation, etc). If they inbound the ball into their FC and they run to their BC, we have a BC violation.

Just my two cents...

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Before I hand the ball off to the thrower starting a period, I ALWAYS point the direction ("White ball going this direction" *insert pointing finger that way*). I do it just before I hand the ball off.

However if the thrower put the ball in play into the team's BC, there is nothing to be done. I don't believe there is anything the official can do until there is a dead ball (ie made basket, violation, etc). If they inbound the ball into their FC and they run to their BC, we have a BC violation.

Just my two cents...

-Josh

I do the same thing. Unfortunately they did not throw the ball into their front court, which is what usually happens when lined up for the trick play, they threw it in their backcourt and proceeded to play there. They got the shot off prior to a 10 second backcourt count.

I believe that what we can stop play and not permit them to continue the wrong direction(s) if it is obvious, as it was in this case, that everybody is going the wrong direction. If we don't stop it and know it, then I believe, 3% worth anyways , that we have permitted both teams to play in the wrong direction and therefore my ruling on the floor was correct.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 06:43pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Before I hand the ball off to the thrower starting a period, I ALWAYS point the direction ("White ball going this direction" *insert pointing finger that way*). I do it just before I hand the ball off.

However if the thrower put the ball in play into the team's BC, there is nothing to be done. I don't believe there is anything the official can do until there is a dead ball (ie made basket, violation, etc). If they inbound the ball into their FC and they run to their BC, we have a BC violation.

Just my two cents...

-Josh
What's more, if I'm getting the defending team out of the huddle, I'll tell them which way we're going, too (white ball coming this way, for example). If I'm the R, I'm pointing before the teams are set and pointing again before putting it in play and being quite vocal about it.

After we tell the teams a few times which way we're going I'm also going to be the lead in the proper frontcourt -- I'm not part of any kind of trickery like this.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
This happened at the beginning of the 4th quarter? I'm having a hard time seeing how they could end up going the wrong way by accident. What level is it? I see them roaming around in the BC (and they're ahead by 50!?!) , I'm counting. They shoot, team B gets the points, and A gets the ball and another 10 seconds to get the ball into the FC. If they do it again, I'm calling it unsportsmanlike and assessing a T.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
This happened at the beginning of the 4th quarter? I'm having a hard time seeing how they could end up going the wrong way by accident. What level is it? I see them roaming around in the BC (and they're ahead by 50!?!) , I'm counting. They shoot, team B gets the points, and A gets the ball and another 10 seconds to get the ball into the FC. If they do it again, I'm calling it unsportsmanlike and assessing a T.
This was a varsity boys game! Team A (team ahead by about 50) put their third stringers in the game (they had 15 in the book!). They weren't roaming, they were running a play and Team B was playing defense. I don't disagree with you by giving Team B the points and Team A the ball. That is what my partner said on the floor. After the game we ran it by the other officials replacing us and the other two crews (tournament setting) that were there. They all said they would have given Team B the points and Team A the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1