The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Throw question pt2

Situation:
After a made basket by Team A, B1 BOUNCEpasses to B2 also out of bounds. For further clarity, this is that play where team B's first pass is still OOB before throwing the ball to B3 in bounds. There was discussion about the legality of a pass that bounced OOB. I contend that a pass is a pass on this play and it doesn't matter.

On a slightly different note, Saturday college game with 3.4 seconds left in a tie ball game. Team A has a spot throw-in and runs this play. My T doesn't call anything, my C doesn't call anything, I call it from the L from the opposite FT line. I am not sure which is worse, the coaches not knowing the rule of OOB throw-in or my partners not calling it
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I can't see how it could be illegal to bounce pass it. There's nothing prohibiting it.

As for your college game...OUCH. And, I vote for your partner administering the throw-in not calling it as the worst...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Thats what I said in my game report too, unfortunately. More fun on this play. One partner was thrown off his game because the team that violated also called a successive time-out prior to the play described. He was of the opinion that they couldn't do it. I wanted to grab him and shake him, its not good to be drawing blanks on end of game situations. Next time I am CC working with him we will have to go over stuff that I took for granted that he should have known.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
Thats what I said in my game report too, unfortunately. More fun on this play. One partner was thrown off his game because the team that violated also called a successive time-out prior to the play described. He was of the opinion that they couldn't do it. I wanted to grab him and shake him, its not good to be drawing blanks on end of game situations. Next time I am CC working with him we will have to go over stuff that I took for granted that he should have known.
Do you mean an excessive timeout? If so, what happened immediately prior to the excessive timeout?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I think he meant successive, as in two in a row.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2008, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
1. There was a ruling some time ago about the OOB bounce pass. It was ruled to be legal.

2. With all that time during the successive time-outs, I would think that it would be wise for the crew to come together and someone say, "Hey, remember this is a spot throw-in." That way no one goes brain-dead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
Situation:
After a made basket by Team A, B1 BOUNCEpasses to B2 also out of bounds. For further clarity, this is that play where team B's first pass is still OOB before throwing the ball to B3 in bounds. There was discussion about the legality of a pass that bounced OOB. I contend that a pass is a pass on this play and it doesn't matter.:
There is nothing that says the pass can not be a bounce pass between B1 and B2 after a made basket as far as NCAA is concerned and I can not think of anything in the FED that would prohibit it either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
On a slightly different note, Saturday college game with 3.4 seconds left in a tie ball game. Team A has a spot throw-in and runs this play. My T doesn't call anything, my C doesn't call anything, I call it from the L from the opposite FT line. I am not sure which is worse, the coaches not knowing the rule of OOB throw-in or my partners not calling it
However on a Spot throw-in it violates several different articles. you had to make the call no mater how far away you were. you have to get it right in that situation.

good reminder to always talk things through before and durring a game so as to get everyone awake and on the same page.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in question. mu4scott Basketball 7 Fri Feb 22, 2008 06:27pm
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Throw-In Question Husker John Basketball 1 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:44pm
Throw in question... footlocker Basketball 3 Wed Mar 03, 2004 06:37am
Another throw in question k2explorer Basketball 13 Thu Jan 02, 2003 02:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1