The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49867-backcourt-not.html)

btaylor64 Fri Nov 14, 2008 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 550591)
I think I remember reading about this situation in the past on this board, but actually had it happen last night. I am trail, A1 bringing the ball up from BC and for whatever reason decides to start going East/West at the point where he is straddling the HC line, ball being dribbled in the FC. B1 reaches in and bats the ball just a foot or so away from A1. A1 then touches the ball with his back foot still in the backcourt. I have a violation since I have 1) team control and 2) a ball in the frontcourt once the ball was batted away 3) A1 first to touch the ball while in the BC - correct? I believe I was, but this is really a bang-bang type of play. It is beyond me why players play with fire along the HC line makes it a difficult situation to officiate. Any tips on what to focus on here to make this play "slow down"? You're watching for contact on the dribbler, ensuring that he maintains his dribble, watching to see when FC status is established...just a lot going on here..

A good rule of thumb is when you are in doubt on a violation, no call it. It's good that you used your play recall to take yourself through the play, but if you have doubt leave it alone cause if you are wrong and you are wrong 50% of the time (bad percentages as a ref) when guessing, you are better off not calling cause you are not incorrectly taking the ball away from the team.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 14, 2008 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 550661)
the way the play is described - since the ball was batted into the front court it is now in the front court and the dribbler is in contact with the backcourt when he picks up the ball - tough call to make but I think you have to.

Incorrect. Two key parts of the rule for there to be a violation: Team A must be the last team to touch the ball BEFORE it goes into the backcourt AND must also be the first team to touch the ball AFTER it goes into the backcourt.

Team B did the batting. The instant team A (while in the backcourt) touches the ball, the ball gains BC status. Nowever, who was the last to touch the ball before that point? Team B, not team A. No violation.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 14, 2008 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550722)
Maybe I found my own answer. Is the difference that in the OP we are talking about a dribble which was touched by the defender in the FC while the ball was NOT touching the offensive player in the BC vs my scenario where the offensive player was holding the ball when it was hit by the defender?

It doesn't really matter. If A1 was constantly in the backcourt and team B touches the ball between the touches by A, you should never have a violation.



For points required for a violation:
  1. Team control
  2. Ball gains FC status
  3. Team A last to touch the ball BEFORE the ball returns to the BC (gains BC status).
  4. Team A first to touch the ball AFTER the ball returns to the BC (gains BC status).
For #2, it doesn't necessarily mean player control in the FC.
For #3, it doesn't matter WHERE team A touches the ball or if the ball still has BC status, just the order relative to gaining BC status.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1