The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49867-backcourt-not.html)

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 550591)
I think I remember reading about this situation in the past on this board, but actually had it happen last night. I am trail, A1 bringing the ball up from BC and for whatever reason decides to start going East/West at the point where he is straddling the HC line, ball being dribbled in the FC. B1 reaches in and bats the ball just a foot or so away from A1. A1 then touches the ball with his back foot still in the backcourt. I have a violation since I have 1) team control and 2) a ball in the frontcourt once the ball was batted away 3) A1 first to touch the ball while in the BC - correct? I believe I was, but this is really a bang-bang type of play. It is beyond me why players play with fire along the HC line makes it a difficult situation to officiate. Any tips on what to focus on here to make this play "slow down"? You're watching for contact on the dribbler, ensuring that he maintains his dribble, watching to see when FC status is established...just a lot going on here..


For clarification, when you say "straddling the HC line, ball being dribbled in teh FC" where are the feet located?

slow whistle Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550700)
For clarification, when you say "straddling the HC line, ball being dribbled in teh FC" where are the feet located?

One foot in FC, one foot in BC.

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 550703)
One foot in FC, one foot in BC.

So how would he have gained FC status?

Adam Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550704)
So how would he have gained FC status?

He didn't. The ball did when it was slapped by B1.

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 550707)
He didn't. The ball did when it was slapped by B1.

Gotcha. So there was no FC status until the ball was touched by B1 who was in the FC.?

Adam Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550713)
Gotcha. So there was no FC status until the ball was touched by B1 who was in the FC.?

Exactly.

Now, the rule says A has to be the first to touch the ball "after" it regains BC status. The case play seems to treat A1 retouching the ball as both giving it BC status and touching it "after." Most here disagree that he can do both simultaneously.

The Fed case ruling would be different if the ball bounced in the BC before A1 touches it. Many here think this is stupid.

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550713)
Gotcha. So there was no FC status until the ball was touched by B1 who was in the FC.?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 550714)
Exactly.

Now, the rule says A has to be the first to touch the ball "after" it regains BC status. The case play seems to treat A1 retouching the ball as both giving it BC status and touching it "after." Most here disagree that he can do both simultaneously.

The Fed case ruling would be different if the ball bounced in the BC before A1 touches it. Many here think this is stupid.

So the following would also be a violation:

A1 is holding the ball with one foot touching BC/one foot in the frontcourt and is being closely guarded by B1 who has both feet on FC. B1 slaps the ball off of the leg of A1 and the ball goes to the BC where A1 is the first to touch it. Violation?

Raymond Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550716)
So the following would also be a violation:

A1 is holding the ball with one foot touching BC/one foot in the frontcourt and is being closely guarded by B1 who has both feet on FC. B1 slaps the ball off of the leg of A1 and the ball goes to the BC where A1 is the first to touch it. Violation?

No. Ball never had FC status.

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 550717)
No. Ball never had FC status.

Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550720)
Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?

Maybe I found my own answer. Is the difference that in the OP we are talking about a dribble which was touched by the defender in the FC while the ball was NOT touching the offensive player in the BC vs my scenario where the offensive player was holding the ball when it was hit by the defender?

Raymond Fri Nov 14, 2008 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550720)
Bear with this rookie.

In the OP, we have an offensive player dribbling the ball at the center line but does not have the ball and both feet in the FC. However, the defender is in the FC and he touches the ball which, if I'm understanding correctly, gave the ball FC status. Correct? The ball then is last touched by the offensive player who is the first to touch it in the BC, thus, a violation.

If I am correct on my understanding, how is that different from the scenario I presented? The ball did not have FC status since a foot was still in the BC.

What am I not following?

In the OP the poster added that the ball was batted into the FC by the defender (B1) before A1 retrieved it.

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 04:12pm

Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.

Zoochy Fri Nov 14, 2008 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550724)
Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.

That is correct. That play was listed on the NFHS and IAABO web sites as interps. I do believe that the described play is in the case book. I believe it is under 'Back Court Violation."

Spence Fri Nov 14, 2008 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 550726)
That is correct. That play was listed on the NFHS and IAABO web sites as interps. I do believe that the described play is in the case book. I believe it is under 'Back Court Violation."

Thanks. One more follow-up then: Lets say it was not tipped by the defense. It was tipped by A2 in the FC and then recovered by A3 in the BC. If I'm reading the rules and definitions correctly there was no team or player control in the FC so I would have nothing. Correct?

Raymond Fri Nov 14, 2008 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550724)
Am I correct that if during a throw in the ball is tipped by a defender and caught by an offensive player who jumped from the FC and landed in the BC we have a backcourt violation? I seem to remember reading that with the logic being that the throw in ended when touched by the defender.

From last season's interps.

Here are the important words: The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1