The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2000, 05:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
Red face

By the book answer:
Double personal foul (4-14-f BR 48): two opponents commit fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

Before the release (assumption that ball hasn't left the hand since you've used the word AS), basket does not count.

Possesion goes to team that previously had player or team control (NCAA 10-12-summary BR-87). New rule this year rather than going to the AP arrow.

Real life answer:
I would hope that one official would acquiesce (likely the trail to the Lead) and "determine" that one "occurred" before the other.

However, the scenario where I see this likely happening is where airborne shooter A1 uses free hand to clear space, while B1, who doesn't have legal guarding position, slides under A1.

Ugly crash, but both fouls require calling.

Tough situation. I've heard that Charles Range made this call in a D1 game a few years back, on TV no less, but I didn't see it myself.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1