Yup, that's my understanding, too. Actually, I was thinking of your first scenario where the ball has NOT left until the crash occurs, but still goes in. "pizanno" indicated that the bucket doesn't count, but I believe I was just reading about this situation and that the basket DOES, in fact, count. Reason? Apparently, because it's a double-foul, it is no longer handled as a player-control foul. Therefore, the restriction on not counting the basket doesn't apply. OK, I'm gonna have to check where I read that when I get home. It was either in the NCAA Rules book or in the latest issue of Referee magazine. If there's disagreement about being able to count the basket here, I'll let you know where I read it.
|