Thread: What to do?
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2000, 10:13am
Todd VandenAkker Todd VandenAkker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

Yes, because of the mix-up, it becomes a double-foul instead of a player-control foul. It's the same for both HS and NCAA. It WAS in Referee that I just read it (March, p. 20)--apparently for college it also results in the AP being used, not giving it back to the shooter's team in this situation like most double-foul plays. For HS, it's specifically cited in the Casebook, play 4.19.7C, the last part of which reads: "The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. An AP throw-in results." So, even MORE reason not to let this happen. Can you imagine the opposing coach's reaction when you count the basket?

[This message has been edited by Todd VandenAkker (edited February 22, 2000).]
Reply With Quote