![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
? In the scenario is A2 the screener or the one going around the screen? It doesn't make a difference by rule, I realize, just curious. To answer the question though, yes, that is a violation according to the FED, with case plays to back it no? In the OP, I am calling the block as I don't feel the player left the court intentionally, but he is off the floor and as such is, IMO, responsible for the contact at that point. It's no different than a player who loses track of where they are and they accidentaly go OOB and realize it and come back in. By rule, violation, BUT, by spirit of the rule (didn't gain an advantage), no violation. I did say earlier that I can see the violation call (but I DON'T BELIEVE THAT IS THE CORRECT CALL)and would be a lot more accepting of that over the player control foul. Somebody back on page 5 or 6 though did answer the question about this not being a violation. Sorry, I'm too lazy to go back and find where exactly now. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
We do, however, call a violation on a player who causes the ball to be OOB: 9-3-1. So, how can a defender, who does not have the ball, be called for a violation? 9-3-2 addresses a player leaving the court for an unauthorized reason, and the committee has clearly stated that this involves intent. The committee has also clearly stated that plays involving momentum, etc. are allowed. So, if you feel the defender has stepped OOB on purpose, then, by all means, call the violation. But, if there is any doubt on intent, then the defender has only lost LGP, as per 4.23.3 B. I have yet to see any rules backing for the claim that a player with OOB status is always responsible for contact.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
||||
I disagree that intent is required here for the violation.
If A2 steps clearly OOB, you have no idea whether he knows he's out or not. And, frankly, whether he steps on the line or a full foot OOB, his intent is the same. If you think he's intending to skirt around the player by stepping on the line, are you going to call this a violation. Secondly, lets say the defender (in the OP) purposefully puts his foot on the line to close that gap. Are you going to call the violation? My point is that if you define the playing court as completely in bounds for purposes of a stationary player being entitled to a spot, then you have to call this violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Ok, then how would you describe the "intent" of this rule? We all know a player trying to save a ball while falling OOB and ending up there is perfectly acceptable. The player intended to go OOB after making the save, right? Perfectly legal. How about the player who drives hard to the basket for the layup, and knows they aren't going to stop before their momentum carries them OOB after the shot? Again, perfectly legal during normal play.
I'm saying "intent" follows the examples given: player purposely running around a screen, and a player stepping OOB to avoid the 3-sec. call; both involve a direct intent, and both seem to show going completely OOB. A player who is not watching where they are going and steps on the line doesn't seem to follow those examples of intent. Now, if you see the player look down, see they're still in-bounds, and then step on the line to make sure the offensive player can't get by, then that's another story.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Cool. So how can a defender, who does not have the ball, commit a violation?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Again, what rule do you use that dictates calling a violation against the defender?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
How is he not???? Unless the offense INTENTIONALLY or FLAGRANTLY runs them over, the player is not LEGALLY in a spot "on the playing floor?"
|
|
|||
Simple - by the rule stating he's not.
Which rule is that?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |