![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Having a foot OOB can affect whether a player has LGP, and whether or not a screen is considered legal. However, there's still that annoying little phrase about a player being entitled to a spot on the floor. So, in your example, if A2 is set on the spot before B1 starts the move and runs into A2, responsibility for the contact still rests with B1.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
The provision about a player being entitled to a spot on the floor is not absolute.
NFHS 4-23-1 Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs. One common situation when being "there" first is does not entitle the player to that spot is when the player's chosen position is in the path of an already airborne player. I bring this up not because it has direct bearing on the OP, but because it illustrates that merely being first is not absolute. So to ask the unpopular question: If the defensive player's foot is on the OOB line, even if he's been there since last Tuesday, did he really "get there first without illegally contacting an opponent."? ![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 11:39am. |
|
||||
Let's change this. B2 standing with a foot on the line and the other foot comletely in bounds. A1 driving down the sideline, runs into B2, knocking him to the floor. Nothing flagrant or intentional, as he's focussed towards the basket; he just grazes the defender.
You gonna call a block on B2?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
If he knocked him to the floor, there must of been a little more than a graze! If not and A1 has a layup let them go and shoot it, if not definitely a block "still", because of the foot being on the line and you can't be in legal guarding position whether they initiated contact or not!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Besides, if he was there since last Tuesday, wouldn't the janitor have taken care of the situation? ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Well, I'm sure the janitor cleaned up after him, if you know what I mean. ![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Player Location
My call: Block! Easy call w/ player standing out of bounds
For those tied up on the fact that a player is entitled to their spot on the floor: Location of player: The location of a player is determined by where they are touching the floor, as far as being in bounds or out of bounds. If a player is touching the floor out of bounds, they are not on the playing floor? Therefore the player is not entitled to that spot on the floor b/c they are considered out of bounds. A player cannot be out of bounds and take a charge. |
|
||||
If you can't call him for a violation for leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason, he's still on the playing floor.
If he's not on the playing floor, you need to call the violation as soon as he leaves. This is not a block.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() also, why would this be different than a player who has established LGP (not relevent in the OP) and going OOB to maintain it and getting called for a block. Why not call the violation for leaving the floor first? (Situation 7 from 03-04 rule interps) I believe the intent is the same, that a player must be on the floor (playing court) in order to draw a PC foul. Last edited by Texref; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 12:57pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Edited to add: From the interps: A player's momentum, after performing legal actions on the court, resulting in taking him/her out of bounds is not a violation for leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 01:08pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
SECTION 13 COURT AREAS ART. 1 . . . The frontcourt of a team consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard. ART. 2 . . . The backcourt of a team consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent's basket and inbounds part of the opponent's backboard.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |