The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 19, 2002, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Dewey1
I think the real issue here is when FC status is established? If A2 has it, it's a violation; if A2 doesn't have it, it's not a violation.
It's not a question of whether FC status is established or not. FC status is established when a player in the FC catches the inbounds pass, no matter whether he is airborne or standing in the FC. "You are where you were until..." applies. 9-11-5 simply allows that player to land in the BC. We need something specific that states he can pass it to a teammate in the BC. No one has provided that yet.
It's possible (I suppose) to read 4-42-2 as saying "an airborne player who catches the ball during a throw-in is in neither the front court nor the backcourt."

(To be clear, that's not how I'd read it absent the ruling. If I assume the ruling is correct, I might be able to "justify" it using 4-42-2.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1