The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:33pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

Revised 1997 Interps

Printing Error:
Rules book: Page 26, 4-11-1 should read “Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance...”
1997-98 and 1998-99 Officials’ Manual: Page 45 — Diagram had an official’s position omitted as to position during a “full” time-out. During a “full” time-out, the official will be on the center court line in the half opposite the table, as indicated in past manuals.

SITUATION #1: A1 attempts a field goal and is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. While the ball is on the rim, B2 bats the ball off the rim. RULING: B2 has interfered with the ball while it is on or within the basket, therefore, the goal shall count and A1 will be awarded one free throw. (4-6-1; 4-22-ib; 9-11-1)

SITUATION #2: After a field goal by A1, B2 dribbles the ball out of bounds along the baseline before passing the ball to a teammate. Is this legal?
RULING: Yes. Basketball Rules Fundamental No. 5 states: Neither the dribble nor traveling rule operates during the jump ball, throw-in or free throw.

SITUATION #3: Team A’s shirts have a four- inch diagonal multicolored design within the side insert. In addition, a 1-inch wide vertical trim extends on each side of the design. RULING: The shirts are not legal as all trim and design/decorations must be included within the 4-inch insert. (3-4-1b)

SITUATION #4: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds, throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

SITUATION #5: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, A2 touches the ball. RULING: The basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. However, A1 is awarded two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting an unsuccessful try. Players must occupy lane spaces as required and play continues as per rule when the last free throw is made or missed. (6-7-9; 9-11-1)

SITUATION #6: A1 is at the free-throw line for an attempt but does not yet have the ball. B1 and B2 are occupying the first lane spaces as required. Lane Spaces 2 and 3 on each side of the lane are vacant. B3 and B4 occupy the fourth lane spaces on each side of the lane. However, A2 and A3 then request to occupy Lane Space 4 on each side of the lane. Should the administering official grant the request even though Spaces 2 and 3 are unoccupied and the request was made after Team B took the fourth lane spaces? RULING: The request is honored as Team A is entitled to each other’s alternate position along each lane line. The request must be made before the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. (8-1-3b)

SITUATION #7: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he or she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be a pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling. (4-42-3c)

SITUATION #8: A1 is out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in. The administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at A1’s disposal. In order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, A1 takes several steps directly backward but keeps one foot on or over the designated area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass. RULING: Legal throw-in. It is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating and he or she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area. The thrower may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. (7-6-2)

SITUATION #9: A1 fouls B1 just after the ball leaves the referee’s hand(s) on the jump to start the first extra period of play. Both teams are in the bonus. How is the alternating-possession arrow established? RULING: When the bonus is in effect, the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower. In this case when the ball is at the disposal of A1, the arrow is set pointing toward B’s basket. An overtime period is the only time the bonus would be in effect and a free throw(s) would result from a common foul. (4-3-3a)

SITUATION #10: During the jump to start the game, A1 taps the ball out of bounds. Before the ball is at B1’s disposal for a throw-in, B2 is charged with a technical foul. RULING: Team A will attempt two free throws followed by a division-line throw-in opposite the table. When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower of Team A, the alternating-possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B’s basket. (4-3-3c Note)

SITUATION #11: A1 and B1 begin fighting and play is stopped. Substitute A6 leaves the bench area and enters the court at the same time, but B6 actually participates in the fight. RULING: A1, B1, A6 and B6 are all disqualified. No free throws result from the double flagrant foul by A1 and B1 or from the simultaneous technical fouls by A6 and B6. Each head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul. Play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (10-6 Pen 1d)

SITUATION #12: The clock indicates one minute 10 seconds left in the fourth quarter, when Team A makes a throw-in following a charged time-out. Team A then commits a 10-second backcourt violation, but the clock shows only eight seconds of the remaining playing time elapsed. The timekeeper indicates the clock was started when the throw-in pass was touched on the court. RULING: Violation. Team B’s ball out of bounds for a throw-in at the nearest spot. The referee is authorized to make a correction in timekeeping “only when he or she has definite information relative to the time involved” and if the referee is certain there has been an obvious mistake. In the situation described, the referee would not be able to determine whether a mistake in starting the clock has been made. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the referee’s accuracy in counting seconds. (2-14-1)

SITUATION #13: A1 and B1 are involved in a double technical-foul situation. The foul occurs in Team A’s frontcourt and with the possession arrow pointed towards A’s basket. RULING: No free throws are awarded for the double technical foul. An alternating-possession throw-in by Team A with the ball put in play at the division line. (4-19-7b Note)

SITUATION #14: A1 has the ball for a throw-in at the designated spot: (a) A2 is out of bounds during the throw-in by A1, or (b) A2 takes the ball from A1 and makes the throw-in. RULING: A throw-in violation by A2 in both (a) and (b). (9-2-9; 9-2-12)

SITUATION #15: A2, while dribbling the ball, indicates to the official he wishes to call a 20-second time-out. As the official approaches the coach of Team A to verify the time-out, the coach indicates he wishes to have a regular time-out. RULING: As long as the official has not reported the time-out to the official scorer, the change can be made as long as the team has one or more regular time-outs remaining. (5-11-2 Note)
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:37pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2000-2001 Interps

Printing Errors and Corrections:
Rules Book: Page 38; 4-42-1; change 20-second time-out to 30 seconds.
Case Book: Page 6; 2.4.5B; delete the last sentence of the play situation.

SITUATION 1: A1 is straddling the division line after catching and possessing a pass from A2. A1 then fumbles the ball, so that the ball lands in A’s frontcourt. A1 then regains possession of the ball (still straddling the division line). RULING: A1, with Team A in control, caused the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and was the first player to touch the ball again in the backcourt. Therefore, a backcourt violation shall be called. (9-9 Note)

SITUATION 2: Same situation as above, except A1 begins a dribble immediately upon fumbling the ball and retreats to his/her backcourt to avoid a defender. RULING: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. COMMENT: The provision of, “both feet and the ball being in the frontcourt” to determine frontcourt status, is only relevant during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. (4-4-6)

SITUATION 3: Defensive player, B1 leaves the court to guard in-bounding A1. He/she intentionally steps out of bounds in order to be issued a warning, so that the coach may read the offensive play and communicate the proper defensive set. RULING: The official may issue a plane violation warning, or a technical foul for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. If the official believes the action was a tactic to gain an advantage, a technical foul should be called. (9-2-11; 10-3-4)

SITUATION 4: Prior to the game the head coach of Team A does not come into the playing area until the team introductions are completed. This is the first opportunity for the game officials to communicate with the coach. It is now game time. How should the referee handle this situation? RULING: The referee shall delay the start of the game and quickly have the head coach verify that his/her player’s uniforms and equipment are legal and will be worn properly, and that all participants are expected to exhibit good sportsmanship throughout the contest. The situation should be reported to the state activities association. COMMENT: It is unfortunate that a coach does not fulfill his/her pre-game duties, but this should not deter the referee from performing his/her duties in a professional manner. (2-4-5)

SITUATION 5: A1 steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch A1 but is trailing the play. As A1 attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6)

SITUATION 6: Three starters of Team A are wearing a 3-inch square
manufacturer’s logo on their game socks. The two others are wearing plain white crew socks. RULING: The socks are legal. Socks are not a required part of the uniform, and are not subject to the manufacturer’s-logo restrictions. (3-6)

SITUATION 7: A6 and A7 report to the table as substitutes to enter the game. B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. A4 goes to the free-throw line to shoot two free throws. B6 replaces B5 before A4 shoots the first free throw. A6 and A7 are also beckoned to come into the game. RULING: The official was correct in beckoning A6 and A7 to come with B6. When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game. (3-3-1c)

SITUATION 8: A “Ram” logo is painted in the center-restraining circle. The home school has a shadow borderline that is 1/4-inch wide that is within the 2-inch width as the dividing line. RULING: A solid or shadow bordered 2-inch wide line is permissible. A shadow line is a line that designates the required 2-inch width by use of border or outline lines at least 1/4-inch wide, which shall lie within the 2-inch width. (1-3-2 Note)

SITUATION 9: Team A is playing with five players, but has no substitutes available when one of the players has an asthma attack. The coach is beckoned onto the floor. Must the player leave the game? May Team A continue with four players? May the player return after recovering from the asthma attack? RULING: A team may continue with fewer than five when there are no substitutes available. The injured/ill player leaving the game may return if/when he or she is able. (3-1-1)

SITUATION 10: A1 jumps from inbounds and gains control of the ball in the air. While in the air, the player tosses/drops the ball inbounds and momentum then carries them out of bounds. A1 then returns to the court and is the first to touch the ball inbounds. RULING: The ball never touched out of bounds and the player returned in-bounds and re-established him/herself before touching the ball. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. (7-1-1; 7-1-2)

SITUATION 11: A1 has the ball in A’s backcourt, against a press; as the action goes on, A2 breaks to his/her basket and A1 throws a full-court pass to A2. As the ball reaches A2 it goes off the backboard and enters the basket for a goal. RULING: The official must determine if the throw was an attempt at a basket or a pass. If it is deemed a pass, then by definition it is not a try and therefore can only be awarded two points. (4-40-2, 3; 5-2-1)

SITUATION 12: On the second and final free throw, A1’s attempt becomes lodged on the flange. RULING: Since the ball was live, it shall be put into play by the alternating-possession procedure. (6-3-3d)

SITUATION 13: A1 is at the free-throw line to shoot a free throw. The lead official bounces the ball to A1, and B1, who is in one of the free-throw lane spaces, a) reaches out and intercepts the bounce pass without breaking the vertical plane of the free-throw lane with either foot and then requests a time-out; or b) breaks the vertical plane of the free-throw lane and intercepts the bounce pass and then requests a time-out. RULING: This is NOT a warning for delay situation, as outlined by Rule 4-46. In both situations, a technical foul shall be called for B1 delaying the game by preventing the ball from being put in play. (10-3-7a)

SITUATION 14: After a made basket by Team B, A1 has the run of the end line for a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is intentionally kicked by B1. Is Team A awarded a designated spot throw-in or may it again run the end line for the throw-in? RULING: There is no provision to allow Team A to run the end line. After any violation, the ball shall be put in play from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. No exception to this rule is noted. (7-5-2)

SITUATION 15: Immediately following a goal in the first quarter by A1, A3 slaps the ball away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. In the second quarter, A2 reaches through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. RULING: The official shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a team warning for the specific delay after it has occurred. The specific warning is then reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay for interfering with the ball following a basket or throw-in plane violation by Team A shall result in a technical foul charged to Team A. COMMENT: The three warning situations listed in Rule 4-46 are treated separately. (4-46; 9-2-11; 10-1-5c,d)

SITUATION 16: The home team had its floor re-painted in the off-season with its school mascot painted in the middle of the floor. The mascot is painted over the division line, so that the line is obstructed and not clearly visible. RULING: There is no penalty accessed to the home team. Every effort shall be made by home management to place a line (temporary or permanent) on the floor. If a temporary line is placed on the floor, precautions should be taken with the substance used to minimize the risk of injury to players and officials. Every effort should be made to play the game. The official should notify the state association of the situation. COMMENT: If you are aware of a facility in which this could occur, contact your state high school association to determine how the situation should be handled in your state. (1-3-2)

SITUATION 17: Dribbler A1 is being closely guarded by B2 in A’s frontcourt. A3 sets a screen on B2 to allow dribbler A1 a pathway to the basket. However, Team B switches defenders after the screen and B4 is now closely guarding dribbler A1. When B4 took over guarding dribbler A1, he/she properly established a legal guarding position and maintained the 6-foot guarding distance. RULING: The closely guarded count on A1 shall be maintained even though there were two different defenders involved. (4-23; 9-10-1)
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:39pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2000-2001 Interps (continued)

SITUATION 18: A1 and B1 begin to fight during a dead-ball period. Two bench players from Team A, A6 and A7, leave the bench area and enter the court to be near the action. Bench player B6 also leaves the bench area onto the floor and begins fighting with bench player A6. RULING: A1, A6, A7, B1 and B6 are all disqualified and each is charged with a flagrant technical foul. The head coach from Team A is charged with two indirect technical fouls (one for A7 leaving the bench and one for A6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). The head coach from Team B is charged with one indirect technical foul (for B6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). Team B is awarded two free throws followed by the ball for a division line throw-in, because the number of participants does not correspond. (10-3-10; 10-4-1h; 10-4-4 Pen)

SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)

SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4-43-3a; 9-4)

SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by A1, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)

SITUATION 3: A1 is in the act of shooting and is fouled by B1. The contact by B1 throws A1 off balance and in an effort to make a play A1 passes off to teammate A2 instead of proceeding through with an off-balance shot. The official rules that the pass-off by A1 is not a factor as it was not the original intent and only the result of the contact by B1. RULING: A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul committed by B1. COMMENT: Provided the official deems that A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled (the player had begun the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball for a try), the subsequent pass-off is ignored. (4-40-3; 4-40-1; Summary of Penalties #5)

SITUATION 4: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The trail official realizes the error and huddles with the lead official. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2-10. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3; 10-5-1d)

SITUATION 5: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and is awarded two free throws. A1 is injured on the play and Team A’s coach has been beckoned on the floor to attend to A1. Although by rule A1 should leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute, the officials make an error and permit A1 to complete the free throws before leaving. The opposing coach objects and insists that A1’s substitute should have shot the free throws, and a correctable error has occurred. RULING: The officials made an error by permitting A1 to remain in the game. This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw, even though A1 is required to leave the game by rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-3)

SITUATION 6: A1 is fouled and Team A is in the bonus. Before A1 attempts the one-and-one, A1 is whistled for a technical foul for taunting. A1 goes to the free-throw line to attempt the one-and-one with no players lined up. A1 makes the first free throw, then the horn sounds and the scorer indicates that A1’s technical foul was the fifth foul on A1. RULING: The result of A1’s first free throw shall stand and A1’s replacement shall attempt the remaining free throw (if the first was successful), before Team B shoots its technical foul free throws. COMMENT: This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw. A1 was not officially disqualified until the coach was notified. (3-3-3; 4-14-2; 2-8-3; 2-10-1c)

SITUATION 7: A1 is attempting the second throw of a one-and-one when simultaneously B3 fouls A3, and A2 fouls B2 while the free throw is in flight. Both teams are in the bonus and B has the possession arrow. RULING: A2 and B3 are charged with personal fouls. Team B puts the ball in play with a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. COMNENT: This is incorrectly interpreted in the 2000-02 NFHS Basketball Handbook (p.81). (6-3-3g)

SITUATION 8: A1 has started a try for a goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. A1’s try is successful. RULING: A1’s goal shall count because the foul was committed by the defense after the try had begun. COMMENT: The foul by the defense need not be on the player in the act of shooting for continuous motion principles to apply. (6-7 Exp 3)
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:42pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2001-2002 Interps

SITUATION 1: After the made basket, A1 has the ball for a throw-in along the end line. B1 fouls A2 at: (a) the division line; (b) the free-throw line closest to the throw-in; (c) along the sideline by A’s bench; or (d) along the end line near A1. RULING: In (a) and (c) the ball is put in play at the out-of-bounds spot closest to where the foul occurred, which is along the sideline. A throw-in along the sideline is always a spot throw-in. In (b) and (d) the closest spot to the foul is the end line where the original throw-in was taking place. In both situations the thrower will retain the privilege of running the end line for the throw-in. (7-5-7)

SITUATION 2: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)

SITUATION 3: While A1’s three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exp (2); 7-5-7)

SITUATION 4: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 and B2 foul each other simultaneously. RULING: This is a double foul (fouls are recorded, but no free throws attempted), which results in an alternating possession throw-in. Even if Team B retains possession, its right to run the end line is negated by B2’s foul. Therefore, the throw-in is from a designated spot out of bounds nearest the foul. (6-3-3f)

SITUATION 5: Both the home and visiting teams appear on the court wearing similar gold jerseys. RULING: The officials inform the home team that they must change to a different color jersey. The home team should wear light and visiting team dark jerseys. (3-4-6)

SITUATION 6: The school-sponsored cheerleaders wish to use megaphones as part of their cheerleading routines from the sidelines. RULING: The new rule prohibiting artificial noisemakers would not apply to the cheerleaders in this situation. The megaphones would only be legal for the cheerleader’s use, provided they were being used appropriately. (1-18)

SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warm-ups instead of shorts? RULING: NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” However, undergarments or tights may not be worn which extend below the pants. Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be illegal. However, the player could wear long pants as the uniform “bottom” and be in compliance with NFHS rules. (3-4; 3-5-5)

SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A4 that he/she must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. A4 responds that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A4 and A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5)

SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players A1, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen)

SITUATION 10: During a dead ball, Team A sends multiple substitutes (#33, #34 and #35) to report to enter the game. The substitutes will be replacing #22, #23 and #24, but, by rule, they do not indicate whom they will be replacing. A delay occurs in putting the ball back into play. During the delay or dead-ball period, replaced Team A player #23 re-enters the game without sitting out the required amount of time. The ball is put in play before the official scorer can recognize that #23 did not remain out of the game the required period of time. RULING: Once the ball became live after the illegal substitution, #23 becomes a legal player. (3-3-3)

SITUATION 11: Each team and the official scorer have been notified that Team A has called a 30-second timeout. Team A decides to sit down on its bench. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The official should first inform the coach that his/her team is to remain standing during a 30-second timeout. If the coach refuses to adhere to the officials’ request, an unsporting technical shall be assessed. (5-12-5)

SITUATION 12: Team A has used all allotted time-outs. The scorer notifies the referee, who properly advises the Team A coach at the beginning of Team A’s last called time-out. During play later in the game, A4 attempts to call time-out when he/she is being pressured by B2 and 83. U2 ignores the request by A4. RULING: U2 should honor the request of A4, even when this would be a time-out in excess of the number allotted. Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players in avoiding rules violations. (2-7-6; 5-12-2)

SITUATION 13: With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free-throw line for one free throw. A1’s shot hits the rim and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2’s hand and the foul occurred before the period-ending horn sounded. The tap is unsuccessful. RULING: B3’s foul is considered in the “act of tapping” and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2’s free throw attempts. (4-40-1; 4-40-5,6,7)

SITUATION 14: A1, while dribbling near the sideline is close to his/her teams bench area when his/her coach reaches over and grasps A1’s arm to bring the player closer to the sideline to give instructions. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation. A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player, on or outside the boundary. (7-1-1)

SITUATION 15: A1 is awarded two free throws. The officials fail to notice that A2 has lined up in one of the lower marked lane spaces that should be occupied by Team B. The officials discover it immediately after the first free throw is successful. RULING: The officials should call a double violation and cancel the first free throw. COMMENT: The officials could have prevented this double violation by observing player positions before putting the ball at the disposal of the shooter. Since they did not catch the violation before the free throw, the penalty for the violation must be enforced. (8-1-3; 9-1-2; 9-1 Pen (3))
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:43pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2001-2002 Interps (continued)

SITUATION 16: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the mid-court line, has the ball strike the mid-court line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 17: A1 is slowly dribbling the ball up the court. B1 is lightly “tagging” A1, but is not impeding A1’s forward motion. The official warns B1 to “keep hands off.” RULING: This is a foul. There is no warning. (10-6-1)

SITUATION 18: A1 is driving towards his/her basket with B1 following. A1 goes up for a lay-up. B1 goes up as well and commits basketball interference. After the basket interference, but before either player returns to the floor, B1 also fouls airborne shooter A1. RULING: The basket interference causes the ball to become dead immediately. Team A is awarded two points for B1’s basket interference, Team B shall have a throw in from anywhere along the end line. B1’s foul is ignored unless deemed unsporting or flagrant. (9-11; 6-7-9)

Note: The above interp (Situation 18) was revised on the FED website a few days after it was posted to recognize that a foul on an airborne shooter is not ignored just because the ball is dead.

SITUATION 19: With four minutes remaining in the game and the score 82-36 with Team A leading, B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. With four other members of Team B already being disqualified for their fifth foul, Team B has no available substitutes. The referee confers with both coaches and subsequently permits previously disqualified player B3 to return to the contest. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The referee, with or without approval of coaches, does not have the authority to set aside a rule, even if the intent is to be compassionate or fair. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3)

SITUATION 20: Team A is leading 61-60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties will be administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 will shoot two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B will shoot the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting. (5-6-4; 10-4-ic; 4-19-8; 5-6-3 Exp)
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2009

SITUATION 1: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)

SITUATION 2: Team A scores a goal; while the ball is dead, Team A requests and is granted a time-out. After the time-out, the official mistakenly awards the ball to Team A. A1 passes the ball to A2, who scores. The mistake is recognized before the ball is at the disposal of Team B after the score. RULING: Once A2 legally touched A1’s throw-in pass after the time-out, the throw-in ended and the mistake cannot be corrected. This is not a correctable-error situation as described in Rule 2-10. (4-42-5; 7-5-7)

SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in by Team A, B1 breaks the plane of the boundary line. The official stops play. RULING: Team B is issued a warning for breaking the throw-in plane. Since the original alternating-possession throw-in had not ended, the ball is again awarded to Team A and remains an alternating-possession throw-in. Any type of further delay by Team B results in a team technical foul. (4-42-5; 4-47-1; 6-4-4; 7-6-4; 10-1-5c)

SITUATION 4: A1 is injured and bench personnel are beckoned onto the court. Once A1 has been removed from the court, the official notifies the Team A coach that a replacement is required. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval because a substitute is not made available immediately. Team A’s head coach then requests a time-out to keep A1 in the game. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The time-out request must be made when the official informs the coach that a replacement is required. Once the 20-second interval has begun and A1’s replacement is pending, a time-out shall not be granted. Once A1 is replaced by a substitute, Team A may request and be granted a time-out, if desired. (2-12-5 Note; 3-3-6; 5-8-3b)

SITUATION 5: During a dead ball, an official notices that A1 is bleeding. The official notifies the Team A coach that a replacement is required. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval because a substitute is not made available immediately. Team A’s head coach then requests a time-out to keep A1 in the game. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The time-out request must be made when the official informs the coach that a replacement is required. Once the 20-second interval has begun and A1’s replacement is pending, a time-out shall not be granted. Once A1 is replaced by a substitute, Team A may request and be granted a time-out, if desired. (2-12-5; 3-3-7; 5-8-3b)


SITUATION 6: During a dead ball, an official notices that A1 and B1 are both bleeding. The official notifies both the Team A coach and the Team B coach that a replacement is required for A1 and B1, respectively. The Team A coach requests a time-out to keep A1 in the game. Team B elects to enter a substitute for B1. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval for B1 because a substitute is not made available immediately. RULING: Correct procedure. A substitute must enter the game for B1 prior to the official granting the time-out for Team A. A1 must be ready to play by the end of the time-out. (2-12-5; 3-3-7; 5-8-3b)

SITUATION 7: A1 is directed to leave the game because his/her jersey is not tucked into the game pants. The official notifies the Team A coach that a replacement is required. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval because a substitute is not made available immediately. Team A’s head coach then requests a time-out to keep A1 in the game. RULING: Team A’s time-out request may only be granted after A1 is replaced by a substitute. A time-out is not permitted to keep a player in the game who has been directed to leave for not wearing his/her uniform properly. Once A1 is replaced by a substitute, Team A may request and be granted a time-out, if desired. (2-12-5; 3-3-5; 5-8-3b)

SITUATION 8: A1 is fouled. Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds. The foul was Team B’s seventh team foul and A1 should have been awarded a one-and-one bonus. Team A scores on the ensuing throw-in. As the ball passes through the net, the officials are informed of the error. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable-error timeframe. Count the goal by A; A1 will be awarded the bonus with no players along the lane lines. There has been a change of possession and the point of interruption is the goal by Team A; therefore, Team B will be awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. (2-10-1a; 2-10-5)

SITUATION 9: A1 has been given the ball for a throw-in when A2 commits a foul against B2. B1 is awarded the ball for a throw-in and commits a throw-in violation by touching a foot inbounds before releasing the throw-in pass. The ball is at A1’s disposal for the subsequent throw-in when the officials are informed that A2’s foul was Team A’s seventh team foul. RULING: The clock had not started and the error is discovered within the correctable-error timeframe. B2 is awarded the bonus with no players along the lane lines. The point of interruption is the throw-in for Team A. (2-10-1a; 2-10-6)

SITUATION 10: The officials erroneously permit A1 to shoot technical foul free throws at Team B’s basket; A1 makes both free throws. When the error is discovered, the timeframe for the correctable error (a) has not passed; or (b) has passed. RULING: In (a), cancel the successful free throws by A1 and administer the free throws again at the correct basket. In (b), the free throws by A1 shall not be canceled and count toward Team A’s point total. (2-10-4)

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2012, 08:39pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2010-2011 NFHS Baskeball Interpretations

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2010-11

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2010

SITUATION 1: Three-tenths of a second remain on the clock in the second quarter. A1’s throw-in is “caught” by A2, released on a try, and the officials count the basket. The coaches do not protest, the officials do not confer and all participants head to their respective locker rooms. Upon returning to the court with three minutes remaining in the intermission, the opposing coach asks the officials if the basket should have counted since the ball was clearly caught and released with three-tenths of a second on the clock. The officials realize their error at this point. RULING: The goal counts; this is not a correctable-error situation as described in Rule 2-10. (2-10; 5-2-5)

SITUATION 2: A1 is discovered wearing an illegal headband during a live ball. RULING: Illegal player equipment shall not be worn and, if discovered, it must be removed immediately. If it cannot be removed immediately, the player is directed to leave the game. COMMENT: There is no provision to permit a player directed to leave the game to remain in the game by assessing a technical foul or granting a time-out. (3-3-4; 3-3-5)

SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and the try is unsuccessful. As the teams line up for the free throws, a double technical foul is called on A2 and B2. RULING: False double foul; the penalties are administered in the order in which they occurred. However, play is resumed after a double technical foul at the point of interruption. The point of interruption is the free throws awarded to A1 for the shooting foul; play resumes from the second free throw (as if the double technical foul never happened). (4-36-2b)

SITUATION 4: A1’s unsuccessful try for goal is rebounded by B1. As A1 returns to the floor after the missed try, he/she twists and then grabs the ankle and goes to the floor. B1 passes the ball to B2, who dribbles into the frontcourt and (a) attempts a try for goal which is not successful but is immediately rebounded by B4 and successfully scored; or (b) attempts a three-point try for goal which is successful. RULING: In both (a) and (b), an official stops play by sounding his/her whistle when the try for goal is released by the B player (player/team control ends on the release for a try). In (a), the successful try by B4 is not scored and play is resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (b), play is resumed with a throw-in to Team A anywhere along the end line. (5-8-2 Note)

SITUATION 5: Team A scores a field goal. A1 requests a time-out from the lead official at the exact same time that the head coach from Team B requests a time-out from the trail official. RULING: Both teams are charged a time-out. If both request a 30-second time-out, the time-out duration shall be 30 seconds. If one team requests a 60-second time-out and the other a 30, the duration shall be 60 seconds. Once a time-out is requested and granted, it shall not be revoked. (5-8-3b)

SITUATION 6: On the second attempt of a two-shot foul, the ball comes to rest on the flange. RULING: Alternating-possession throw-in; the free thrower did not violate the provisions of the free throw. (6-4-3)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:21pm.
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2012, 08:40pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2011

Printing Error: Officials Manual: page 13, 1.4.1.B, sentence should read (delete struck through text):
B. Neither a team nor any player is ever in control during a dead ball, jump ball or throw-in, or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

SITUATION 1: The officials are on the court prior to the game observing the team warm-ups. One official notices that a member of Team A is wearing a decorative feather in the hair. RULING: The official should inform the team member and/or coach that the feather shall be removed immediately. Upon compliance, the team member may continue to warm up with his or her teammates and may start the game without penalty. (3-5-4e)

SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7)

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)

SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 6: After a made basket by Team B, A1 steps out of bounds, secures the ball, then sets it down and runs (out of bounds) to the other side of the key. A2 then steps out of bounds, picks up the ball and bounce-passes it to A1, who then inbounds the ball down court to A3. RULING: Legal activity provided the administering official has not reached a five-second count. (7-5-7)

SITUATION 7: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and contacts the ball while it is in A1’s possession. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to B1. In addition to the technical foul, a throw-in boundary-plane warning is assessed and recorded since B1 actually penetrated the boundary-line plane before the throw-in pass was released. (4-47-1; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-3-10).

SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #39 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2012, 08:56pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2012-2013 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2012

SITUATION 1: While A1's free throw is in flight, B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane. A1's free throw hits the ring and bounces straight up and hits a wire over the basket or hits the ring and goes over the backboard. RULING: The official should sound the whistle and call a violation on B1. A1 is given a substitute free throw. (9-1-4 Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 2: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

SITUATION 3: A1 is closely guarded by B1 for two seconds in Team A’s frontcourt. B2 then double-teams A1 and both B1 and B2 are closely guarding A1 for one second. B1 then drops off of A1 to cover another player. B2 continues to closely guard A1 for two more seconds. RULING: A1 has committed a violation since he/she was closely guarded continuously for a total of five seconds. (4-10; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 4: A1 holds the ball for four seconds while B1 obtains a legal guarding position. A1 begins a dribble and does so for four seconds while B1 maintains a closely guarded position. A1 then holds the ball for four seconds while being closely guarded. RULING: There is no violation in this situation. Though closely guarded, A1 is legal in holding the ball for four seconds, then dribbling for four seconds and then holding the ball again for four seconds. (4-10; 4-23-1; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 5: At half time, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)

SITUATION 6: As A1's try is in flight, A1, B1 and B2 get in position for a rebound. B1's back is against A1 as the rebound comes off the rim. B1 steps backwards and displaces A1 out of position by pushing/backing into him/her. B1 gains control of the rebound. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-7-1; 4-19-1)

SITUATION 7: Team A controls the ball in its backcourt and moves toward its frontcourt. A1 brings the ball into the frontcourt and immediately passes the ball to A2, who is posted low outside the lane, who then passes to A3 cutting across the lane. B1 is moving with A3 as he/she comes across the lane but has not established a legal guarding position. B1 uses his/her body to push A3 as a try is made. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-23-2)

SITUATION 8: Team A is hosting the contest. The official scorekeeper is wearing a red shirt to match that of the coaching staff of Team A. The referee of the officiating crew asks the scorekeeper to wear a vertically striped garment. The scorekeeper refuses to change his/her garment to honor the request of the official. RULING: The contest should be played and the situation reported to the school's administration and to the state office. COMMENT: There is not a penalty associated with this rule. The intent of the rule is to quickly identify the official scorekeeper at the table. (2-11-12)

SITUATION 9: Player A1 scores a field goal. Team B has the ball for an end line throw-in. Thrower-in B1 may move along the end line. A2 intentionally fouls B2 near the end line. Following the free throws, the official awards the ball to Team B and rules that Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line. RULING: Incorrect call. The ensuing throw-in must be made from the designated spot. (Rule 7-5-4b)

SITUATION 10: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the successful field goal, then proceeds out-of-bounds to start the throw-in effort. B1 moves along the end line while attempting to locate an open teammate. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is kicked by A2 near the end line. The official rules a violation and awards Team B a designated spot throw-in. RULING: Incorrect call. Team B retains the right to move along the end line for the ensuing throw-in. (Rule 7-5-7b)

SITUATION 11: While the ball is in flight on a free throw by A1, A4 breaks the plane of the three-point line with his/her foot before the ball hits the ring, backboard or the free throw ends. RULING: A4 has committed a free-throw violation. The official should sound the whistle immediately and award the ball to Team B for a throw-in at a spot nearest the violation. (Rule 9-1-3f; 9-1-4 Penalty 1a)

SITUATION 12: A1 is holding the ball in her/his frontcourt. B1 moves to within 6 feet and stands and faces A1. The official does not apply the closely guarded rule because B1 is not playing aggressively. RULING: The official is incorrectly applying the closely guarded rule. The amount of movement or the actual body movement of B1 is irrelevant. (Rule 4-10)

SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt and B1 assumes a legal, closely guarded position. A2 moves into a position to set a legal, on-ball screen on B1. B2, playing good defense, trails the screen and switches onto A1 as he comes off the screen, still dribbling the ball. RULING: The official should continue the closely guarded count and when the count reaches 5 seconds, sound the whistle and call a violation on A1. (9-10-2)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 16, 2013, 12:09pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2013-2014 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

2013-14 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2013

Printing Error, Exam Part 1: Question 3 answer remains as False. Because this question is poorly worded, the question has been eliminated, creating a 99-question exam.

Rules Book, page 52: Rule 8-1-4a – Marked lane spaces shall be occupied…change “shall” to “may.”

SITUATION 1: May an electronic device be used in dead-ball situations, such as free throws and throw-ins, to communicate with the players who are officially in the game?
RULING: No, the coaching staff may not use an electronic device to communicate with the players on the playing court at any time. They may use an electronic device to coach and teach the players on the bench at any time. (10-1-3)

SITUATION 2: Prior to the start of the game, an official notices that several Team A members are wearing: (a) white wristbands and white headbands; or (b) black arm sleeves and white leg sleeves; or (c) black leg sleeves and white headbands.
RULING: Legal in (a) and (c); illegal in (b). In (a), wristbands and headbands shall be white, black, beige or a single solid school color and shall be the same for each item for all participants. In (b) illegal, the arm and leg sleeves shall be white, black, beige or a single solid school color and the same color for each team member. In (c), the rules do not require wristbands, headbands, arm and leg sleeves to all be the same color. (3-5-3, 3-5-4a)

SITUATION 3: The announcer announces (a) who scores (b) who fouls, (c) time left in the quarter.
RULING: Legal in (a) and (b); illegal in (c). In (a) and (b), the announcer is allowed to give basic information during the course of the game, such as who the foul is on, who is shooting free throws, which team is taking a time-out and the length of the time-out. In (c), announcing the amount of time left in the quarter is not information that should be given since there is a visible clock for all to see. There is no penalty. The announcer should be handled in the same manner as a scorekeeper or timer who are not in compliance with the spirit of the game. Appropriate training by school personnel and proper pregame instructions by the referee are necessary. (1-18)

SITUATION 4: Player A1 wears a red arm sleeve and his/her teammate, Player A2, wears a black leg sleeve.
RULING: Illegal. If worn, the leg and arm sleeves shall be white, black, beige or a single solid school color and the same for each team member. (3-5-3)

SITUATION 5: Team A coach calls a time-out. During the time-out, the coach uses an electronic tablet to demonstrate a play.
RULING: Legal. The coach is allowed to use electronic devices to coach or teach during the contest. (1-19)

SITUATION 6: Players A1 and B1 are fighting each other away from the ball and play is stopped. The head coach of Team A rushes onto the court to stop the fight.
RULING: Players A1 and B1 are charged with flagrant fouls and disqualified from the contest. No free throws are given for the double fragrant foul. The head coach is allowed to enter the court without being beckoned by an official when there is a fight so there is not a penalty assessed on him/her for this action. Resume play using the point of interruption. (4-19-4; 4-36; 10-4-5 Note)

SITUATION 7: Team A’s coach disagrees with the call of the official and attempts to discuss the play through the use of an electronic device.
RULING: The coach will not be allowed to discuss a call with an official through the use of an electronic device. The official should not have a discussion with a coach who is showing the play on an electronic device. Persistent use of an electronic device in this manner should be considered unsporting behavior and penalized as such. (10-4-3, Penalty)

SITUATION 8: A fight breaks out between A1 and B1 during a dead ball and clock-stopped situation. The assistant coach from Team A rushes onto the floor to assist with stopping the fight.
RULING: Players A1 and B1 are charged with flagrant technical fouls and disqualified from the contest. No free throws are awarded for the double flagrant foul by A1 and B1. The assistant coach is assessed a flagrant technical foul and disqualified from the contest for entering the floor during the fight. The assistant coach is not allowed to enter the floor to help with stopping a fight. Team A head coach will be assessed an indirect technical and lose his/her coaching box privileges. Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line opposite the table for the foul on that assistant coach. (4-19-4; 10-4-5)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2014, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2014-2015 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2014-2015
By NFHS on October 16, 2014 basketball

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2014

Rule Book Corrections: Page 2, 2014-15 NFHS Basketball Rules Changes, 9-1-4g should read 9-1-3g.

Page 55, Rule 9-1-4, Delete.

Case Book Corrections:

Pages 25-26, 3.5.4 SITUATION, RULING Correction: illegal equipment in (a); the blue headbands and wristbands do not match the predominant color of the uniform (white).

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)

Page 70, 9.1 COMMENT: Sentence 2 should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked lane space or break with either foot the vertical plane of a free throw lane line or lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower. Delete last sentence.

CLARIFICATION ON POST PLAYER: A post player becomes a ball handler/dribbler when the post player receives the ball, regardless of position on the floor or the direction he/she is facing. When the offensive player gains possession of the ball, the actions listed in Rule 10-6-12 committed by any defensive player shall be charged as a foul.

SITUATION 1: During a free throw by A1, B1 is positioned just behind the three-point line at the top of the semicircle. Is B1’s position legal and what restrictions are in effect on B1?
RULING: The position of B1 is legal. B1 may move freely but may not break the vertical plane of the three-point line and the free-throw line extended with either foot until after the ball touches the ring or the backboard or until the free throw has ended. (9-1-3 Penalties)

SITUATION 2: While the ball is live, players A1 and B1 commit fouls against each other at approximately the same time. A1 then punches B1. B6 and B7 leave the confines of the bench but do not participate in the fight.
RULING: The common fouls by A1 and B1 constitute a double personal foul, so no free throws are awarded. A1’s punch constitutes fighting and results in a flagrant technical foul, disqualification and the awarding of two free throws. B6 and B7 are assessed technical fouls and disqualified for entering the court illegally during a fight. Although B6 and B7 are both assessed technical fouls, only one is penalized with two free throws. The coach is penalized one indirect technical foul for B6 and B7 leaving the bench. [4-19-8; 10-3-7; 10-6 Penalties (Rule 10 Summary) 8.a, b]
Administration of Penalties: The double personal fouls offset and no free throws are awarded. With the marked lane spaces clear, any member of Team B (other than B6 and B7) attempts two free throws for the flagrant technical foul (fighting) by A1. These attempts are followed by any member of Team A (other than A1) attempting two free throws – with the marked lane spaces clear – for the technical foul charged to B6 and B7 for leaving the bench during a fight, but not participating. Following the free-throw attempts by Team A, play is resumed with a throw-in by Team A at the division line opposite the scorer’s table.

SITUATION 3: Post Player A1 received the pass in the lane. B1 places an extended arm bar on the back of the ball handler.
RULING: Illegal. A personal foul should be called anytime this type of contact occurs. (10-6-12)

SITUATION 4: Post Player A1 is facing the basket with the ball when B1 places a hand on his hips to keep him from moving in a particular direction.
RULING: Illegal. A personal foul should be called anytime this type of contact is made. (10-6-12)

SITUATION 5: Team A is passing the ball among A1, A2 and A3 in an effort to confuse the opponent and get an easy basket. B1 excessively fouls and knocks A5 down to the floor away from the ball.
RULING: An intentional foul should be called because of the excessive contact while the ball is live. (4-19-3d)

SITUATION 6: Substitute A6 attempts to enter the game wearing a headband and wristband that are not white, black, beige or a dominant color of the uniform. Team A is the home team and is wearing the customary white jersey.
RULING: Substitute A6 is not permitted to enter the game before either removing the illegal items or wearing the appropriate headband and wristband color. NOTE: Before the season begins, the coach should indicate to the team members the color of headbands, wristbands sleeves and tights that should be worn by the team. Making such a decision and sharing it with the team will assist the players with being compliant with Rules 3-5-3 and 3-5-4.

Last edited by APG; Thu Oct 16, 2014 at 03:58pm. Reason: formating
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 16, 2015, 01:27am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2015-16
By NFHS on October 14, 2015

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2015

Rule Book Corrections: Page 56, 2015-16 NFHS Basketball Rules omission: 9-1-3 Penalty 4b should read “If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3).
Rule 9-1-3a: delete “or backboard”

Case Book Corrections:
Page 22, Situation 3.5.3 B: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5, presently in the game, is wearing beige compression sleeves on his/her arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. Ruling: A6 and A5 are is not allowed to enter the game because the rules require all team players to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 and A5 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3.5.3)

Clarification Preseason Guide Article “Enforce Illegal Contact on Free Thrower and Violations During Free Throw”, page 6, second paragraph: The free thrower must remain within the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the basket ring or the shot is made or missed. The same rule applies to all other players who do not occupy free throw lane line marked spaces. Players who occupy free throw lane line marked spaces during free throws may enter the free-throw lane upon the free thrower releasing the ball; however, should a defensive player cross the free-throw line too soon, it is a violation. A delayed violation signal is to be displayed. If the free throw is successful, the violation is ignored. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. If the free throw is unsuccessful, the violation is enforced and a substitute free throw is awarded. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. Whether the free throw is or is not successful, the penalty for the personal foul is awarded. If the free thrower’s team is in a bonus situation, the free thrower would be awarded a one-and-one or two free throws. If the free thrower’s team is not in a bonus situation, his or her team would be awarded a throw-in along the end line.

Comment: Rule 9-1 does not address the issue of players, other than the free thrower during the free throw, entering the semi-circle. The national interpretation on this issue is during the free throw, anyone entering the semi-circle has created a violation. If it is a team member who violates, the ball should be blown dead immediately. If an opponent violates, it is a delayed lane violation and the free thrower should be awarded a substitute throw if the free throw is missed.

SITUATION 1: The opponent makes contact with the free-throw shooter before the free throw reaches the basket. The free throw is missed.
RULING: The official should rule a violation on the opponent and a personal foul. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 2: After A1 releases the ball on a free throw try, B1 steps into the lane and backs across the free-throw line to box out the free-throw shooter then makes contact with the free-throw shooter. The free throw is missed.
RULING: The official should rule a delayed violation on the opponent. A1 will be awarded a substitute free throw and the contact is ruled a foul. The substitute free throw would be administered with the free-throw lane spaces unoccupied. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 3: During a free throw by A1, B1 pushes A2 and B2 is in the lane before the ball is released.
RULING: Delayed violation and penalize the foul. If Team A is in the bonus, shoot one-and-one. If Team A is not in the bonus, A gets the ball for a throw-in along the endline. If the free throw is not successful, award a substitute free throw and also penalize the foul as a personal foul (live ball). The substitute free throw would be administered with the free throw lane spaces not occupied. (9-1-2 Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 4: An official notices members of Team A are wearing headbands that have extensions.
RULING: Illegal. The coach should be informed that the headbands with extensions are illegal and the players will not be allowed to enter the game wearing them. (3-4-5b)

SITUATION 5: During warm-ups, A1 is wearing black tights, A2 is wearing a white headband and matching white wristbands. Both meet the definition of the rule as it relates to color.
RULING: The officials should work with the coach, prior to the game, when they see several colors being worn by team members. Officials should be proactive in this situation. The coach needs to take responsibility to make sure team members are dressed properly. (3-5-3,4)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2016, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,176
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2016-17
By NFHS on October 10, 2016

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2016

Rules Book Corrections: Page 59, Rule 9-12, Penalties (Section 11 – 12) 10-3-9 should be 10-4-9; Page 68, State Association Adoptions #2 NOTE 10-5-1a should be 10-6-1a; Page 71, Technical Foul Penalty Chart, Head Coach 20 seconds should read 15 seconds.

Case Book Corrections: Page 19, 3.3.5 Situation B change 20 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 20, 3.3.6 Situation C change 0 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 41, 5.4.19 change 20 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 76, 9.12 Situation B Ruling Correction; A2 has committed a goaltending violation. No points can be scored. Since this goaltending violation occurred during a free throw, the penalty is a technical foul. Team B will
be awarded two free throws and a throw-in from the division line opposite the scorer and timer table. (4-22; 10-4-9 PENALTY)

Arm Bar: An arm bent across one’s chest is an arm bar. When a defender has the bent arm across his/her chest and on the offensive player with no exertion, there is no foul. When a defender uses this bent arm and extends it out away from the chest to push an offensive player away or to control his/her movement, it is illegal and a foul should be ruled.

SITUATION 1: A6 has reported to enter the game. A6 is wearing an undershirt that contains a visible logo “Nike Pro Combat” with dimensions that do not meet those of 2¼ square inches and not exceed 2¼ inches in any dimension. RULING: The official should instruct the coach and the player that he/she will not be able to wear the undershirt because the “Nike Pro Combat” logo exceeds the allowable size dimensions. The player will need to leave the bench and go to the locker room to remove the undershirt. (3-5-6)

SITUATION 2: B2 is in a marked lane space after free thrower A1 releases a final free-throw attempt. B2 enters the free-throw semicircle before the ball strikes the ring, contacting A1, whose free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. The official rules a foul on B4 and awards A1 bonus free throws as B4’s foul is the eighth team foul. RULING: The official was correct to rule a foul on B4 — illegal contact occurred. However, the official was incorrect to only award bonus free throws. B4 committed a delayed free-throw violation and A1 should have been given a substitute free throw with the lane cleared prior to the administration of
the bonus free throws. Play resumes with the result of A1’s bonus free throws. NFHS/Referee Basketball Preseason Guide 2016. (9-1 PENALTIES 2b)

SITUATION 3: The spirit group/cheerleaders move onto the playing court during a time-out. RULING: The referee shall remove the spirit group/cheerleaders from the court and inform the group’s captain of the reason for removal. (1-20)

SITUATION 4: A spirit group member(s) or a photographer has set-up within the free-throw lane lines extended area. RULING: The lead official shall request the group member(s) or photographer to move from
the restricted area. (1-20)

SITUATION 5: The media person or spirit group member(s) is located toward the sideline completely outside of the free-throw lane line extended area. RULING: The location of the spirit group member(s) and/or
media person is legal. (1-20)

NOTE for SITUATIONS 3, 4, 5: Should the spirit group, photographer, etc., not be cooperative, the referee shall request the athletic administrator or game site manager to address the situation.

SITUATION 6: Team’s school colors are blue and gold and the predominant color of the team’s jerseys is white. Prior to the game, an official observes that several team members are wearing beige pre-wrap around the entire head and blue wristbands. RULING: The headband and wristbands do not meet the color requirements. The official should notify the coach that the headbands and wristbands must be removed because they do not meet the color requirements. NOTE: Pre-wrap when worn around the head is considered to be a headband and must meet the color requirements. Pre-wrap when worn around the hair, such as a ponytail, is a hair-control device. (3-5-4)

SITUATION 7: A1 has been disqualified from the game for committing his/her fifth foul or a flagrant foul. The coach of Team A is notified and then the official instructs the timer to begin the replacement period. The player is then notified of the disqualification. The coach of Team A rises from the bench and (a) talks until the sounding of the warning horn with the remaining four players who have gathered near the boundary; (b) immediately sends A6 to the table to report in. The coach then gathers the players at the sideline for a conference; or (c) sends A6 towards the table but the time indicates the 15 seconds have expired before A6 gets there. RULING: Legal in (a), as long as a substitute reports before the 15 seconds lapsed. In (b), play will resume as soon as A6 has reported to the scorer. In (c), a technical foul is charged directly to the head coach. It is not an administrative technical. (2-12-5; 10-6-2)

SITUATION 8: A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded the one-and-one penalty. The error is discovered: (a) after A1’s first free throw is successful; (b) after both free throws are successful; (c) after B1 has the ball for a throw-in following the second successful free throw; (d) after B2 has control of the throw-in pass from B1 following the second successful free throw; (e) after B1 has
secured the rebound following A1’s unsuccessful second free throw. RULING: In (a) and (b), the successful free throw(s) is canceled. Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot out-ofbounds nearest to where B1 originally fouled. In (c), the successful free throws are canceled. Since the throw-in that was underway is the result of the successful free throws, it is also canceled. The point of interruption is the foul by B1. Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where B1 originally fouled. In (d) and (e), the successful free throws are canceled. Play resumes with a throw-in awarded to Team B since Team B had the ball inbounds when the game was interrupted for the correction. (2-10; 4-36)

SITUATION 9: Player A1 has the ball at his/her disposal for a single free throw when A2 steps into the lane and then pushes B1. RULING: The ball became dead when A2 violated the lane and the official rules a violation on A2 and disallows the free throw attempt by A1. The push by A2 may be considered incidental and the ball awarded to Team B for a throw-in at the nearest spot. (9-1 PENALTIES 1)

SITUATION 10: A technical foul is issued at the start of the game on Team A and the game begins with free throws. Team B brings in substitute B6 to shoot the free throw. RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at the disposal of B6. B6 and B5 are subject to proper substitution rules. B5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been
properly started. (3-2-2a, 3-3-4)

SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past and Present Rules Interps (Updated to 2017) Robert E. Harrison Baseball 12 Sun Mar 26, 2017 09:41am
2016-17 NFHS Interpretations Freddy Basketball 14 Thu Oct 20, 2016 07:54pm
2017 NFHS Softball Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 7 Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:51pm
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. ca_rumperee Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1