The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 520
Save/Dribble - Legal Play?

Am I correct that the following is legal?

A1 dribbling in backcourt - loses control of the dribble - ball going OOB and A1 bats it back onto the court(note: A1 goes OOB after batting the ball) - A1 comes back inbounds and gets to the ball where he continues dribbling it without having picked it up.

Legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 12:45pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When did the dribble end?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
I believe if you are going to save a ball heading oob, if your momentum takes you out of bounds and you get back in bounds before contacting the ball, it should be legal since it was an interrupted dribble and you were just trying to save it from going oob!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
When did the dribble end?
I assume that's rhetorical which would seem to indicate that it is a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 02:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
When did the dribble end?
It didn't. It was only interrupted.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 03:45pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,524
From the NCAA case book:

A.R. 111. A1, while airborne, catches the ball in an attempt to prevent a live ball from going out of bounds. A1 throws the ball to the floor as his/her momentum causes him/her to land out of bounds. A1 returns to the playing court where he/she:
(1) Recovers the ball; or
(2) Continues to dribble.
The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: No.
(1) and (2) The official was incorrect in calling a traveling violation because when A1 caught the ball while airborne, he/she had no established pivot foot. When he/she threw the ball to the floor, returned to the floor after being legally out of bounds and was the first to touch the ball, it became a dribble.
(1) When A1 recovered the ball, the dribble ended.
(2) A1 is permitted to continue his/her dribble.

(Rule 4-68, 4-21.2 and 4-21.4.a)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Oct 17, 2008 at 09:06am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
From the NCAA case book:

A.R. 111. A1, while airborne, catches the ball in an attempt to prevent
a live ball from going out of bounds. A1 throws the ball to the floor as his/her momentum causes him/her to land out of bounds. A1 returns to the playing court where he/she:
(1) Recovers the ball; or
(2) Continues to dribble.
The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: No.
(1) and (2) The official was incorrect in calling a traveling violation because when A1 caught the ball while airborne, he/she had no established pivot foot. When he/she threw the ball to the floor, returned to the floor after being legally out of bounds and was the first to touch the ball, it became a dribble.
(1) When A1 recovered the ball, the dribble ended.
(2) A1 is permitted to continue his/her dribble.

(Rule 4-68, 4-21.2 and 4-21.4.a)
Good info.

The one difference I see in the above vs the OP is the ball wasn't actually caught in the OP - it was batted.

In your situation, if A1 caught it while airborne AFTER having already been dribbling the ball (and lets assume the defense didn't knock it away) the dribble has ended, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 09:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Good info.

The one difference I see in the above vs the OP is the ball wasn't actually caught in the OP - it was batted.

In your situation, if A1 caught it while airborne AFTER having already been dribbling the ball (and lets assume the defense didn't knock it away) the dribble has ended, correct?
Yes, in that case he would have to pass or shoot...or call time-out (NFHS).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 09:20am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yes, in that case he would have to pass or shoot...or request a time-out (NFHS).
You knew somebody was going to get it, may as well be me
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 09:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Am I correct that the following is legal?

A1 dribbling in backcourt - loses control of the dribble - ball going OOB and A1 bats it back onto the court(note: A1 goes OOB after batting the ball) - A1 comes back inbounds and gets to the ball where he continues dribbling it without having picked it up.

Legal?
A philosophical point. If you can't find a reason in the rules for it to be illegal, it's legal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 09:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yes, in that case he would have to pass or shoot...or call time-out (NFHS).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
You knew somebody was going to get it, may as well be me
I never got caught up in that debate...the only time I literally get requests for times-out is actually during dead ball periods. IE: after reporting a foul the coach will ask "can I get a time-out please?"

During live balls "time-out" is usually called out by a player or coach.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal play? or Not? Johnny Ringo Basketball 21 Thu Mar 27, 2008 02:46am
Legal play? Johnny Ringo Basketball 9 Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:03am
Was this a legal play refnrev Volleyball 6 Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:54am
legal , or doulbe dribble hardwdref Basketball 2 Wed Nov 10, 2004 06:29pm
legal play or not? yankeesfan Football 2 Thu Oct 23, 2003 09:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1