Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20
There is a rule regarding passing the ball over the supports or over the backboard. However, I believe (without looking this up) that this only applies to a throw-in pass. So if you're on the baseline and you pass it over the backboard/supports to the other side of the court, then you have a violation........I think 
|
The rule is about passing over the backboard, not across or behind it. IOW, if it goes front to back or back to front, it's a violation. But if it goes from left to right or right to left, it's not a violation regardless of whether it's behind or in front. It does not matter if it's during a throwin or not.
The only time a throwin matters on this is if the ball passes through the basket.