The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 09:03am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeedonk View Post
Question is- If A1 DID touch B1 with the ball, I'd call out of bounds violation on A1 as he was standing OOB while the ball contacted the player in bounds (right?)
No. While A1 is still holding the ball, he's allowed to be out of bounds with it. If A1 held it over the line, and B1 slapped at it but didn't dislodge it, you wouldn't call an out of bounds violation on A1, would you? Your situation was the same.

The ball is allowed to be touched while it has out of bounds status during the throw-in. If the ball is being held on the out of bounds side of the boundary plane, then only the throw-in team is allowed to touch it. But if it is on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, then either team may touch it and not violate.

Those throw-in provisions are in effect until the ball is released on the throw-in pass. In your case, since the ball hadn't been released, it's not a violation on either team when the ball touches the defender.

Quote:
Or should I have killed the play when I saw them too close and moved them both away? Preventive officiating or improperly stopping the play?
You should only move them apart when there is physically not enough room for the inbounder to back up for extra space. If the inbounder has plenty of room behind him, but chooses to stand right on the boundary line, that's his problem, not yours.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 07:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Agree, But Would Like Some Citations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
While A1 is still holding the ball, he's allowed to be out of bounds with it. If A1 held it over the line, and B1 slapped at it but didn't dislodge it, you wouldn't call an out of bounds violation on A1, would you? Your situation was the same.

The ball is allowed to be touched while it has out of bounds status during the throw-in. If the ball is being held on the out of bounds side of the boundary plane, then only the throw-in team is allowed to touch it. But if it is on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, then either team may touch it and not violate.

Those throw-in provisions are in effect until the ball is released on the throw-in pass. In your case, since the ball hadn't been released, it's not a violation on either team when the ball touches the defender.
Scrapper1: These all sound good to me, but can you provide some citations that cover these situations, especially the first one you mentioned where "A1 held it over the line, and B1 slapped at it but didn't dislodge it". Thanks.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Sep 26, 2008 at 07:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 07:23pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Scrapper1: These all sound good to me, but can you provide some citations that cover these situations, especially the first one you mentioned where "A1 held it over the line, and B1 slapped at it but didn't dislodge it". Thanks.
I don't have any citations, because I don't think there are any. Here's my reasoning, though. There's a specific casebook play, 7.6.4A telling us that it's legal for a defender to slap and dislodge a ball when the inbounder holds it across the boundary line. If it's legal to slap and dislodge it, how can it be illegal to slap but not dislodge it? It's the exact same action, except the inbounder is holding on a little tighter in one situation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2008, 07:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Casebook Plays Count As Citations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I don't have any citations. There's a specific casebook play, 7.6.4A telling us that it's legal for a defender to slap and dislodge a ball when the inbounder holds it across the boundary line. If it's legal to slap and dislodge it, how can it be illegal to slap but not dislodge it? It's the exact same action, except the inbounder is holding on a little tighter in one situation.
Why say you don't have any citations? Thanks for the citation.

While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1’s hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B’s basket. Ruling: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Sep 27, 2008 at 06:03am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal inbounds play? rockchalk jhawk Basketball 9 Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:46am
Q from 1st Year: Tight Sideline Inbounds Plays ca_rumperee Basketball 7 Mon Feb 04, 2008 09:19am
sideline play stewcall Basketball 58 Fri Apr 23, 2004 07:11pm
? on inbounds play Maxman7 Basketball 2 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:50pm
Interesting inbounds play Mark Dexter Basketball 14 Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1