The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
I'm a new ref, mainly officiating Boys & Girls club games. Have a question for you.

Player A1 is inbounding in his frontcourt from the free throw line extented. He throws the ball to his teammate A2. The ball hits A2's right hand (A2 takes his eye off of it), and bounces into the back court where A2 chases it down. The defense never touched the ball. Is this a violation?

I called it as such and the team's coach went into a fit. Was I wrong?

On a side note, the team was up by 20 in the 3rd quarter.
__________________
Because I've been with Del Griffith. I can take anything.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 05:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Maxman7
I'm a new ref, mainly officiating Boys & Girls club games. Have a question for you.

Player A1 is inbounding in his frontcourt from the free throw line extented. He throws the ball to his teammate A2. The ball hits A2's right hand (A2 takes his eye off of it), and bounces into the back court where A2 chases it down. The defense never touched the ball. Is this a violation?

I called it as such and the team's coach went into a fit. Was I wrong?

On a side note, the team was up by 20 in the 3rd quarter.
You were wrong,Max.On a throw-in,team A has to establish player(and thus team)control in the front court before you can have an over and back call.Player control is defined as holding or dribbling the ball,not just touching or batting it.Team A can legally knock the ball into the back court,and then go get it.If you have a casebook,check out play 4.12.6B.

Welcome to the board.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to firedoc
Wrong. There is no team possession during a throw-in and the team never obtained control of the ball before it went into the backcourt. No over and back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1