The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Sep 13, 2008, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member

Did I shoot myself in the foot?

I have a nice schedule this year including many good JV teams. I have turned down offers to ref at the varsity level do to my lack of experience. I am only in my fourth year of officiating basketball and I don't feel I am ready for the varsity games yet. I hope I am not making a mistake by not taking the V games. I would think the AD's would understand and appreciate my honesty. What do you guys think?
Old Sat Sep 13, 2008, 05:05pm
Do not give a damn!!

You are the only one that really knows if you feel ready or not. I would not say you shot yourself in the foot, you may have stuck a needle it in. You might have made the person giving you the opportunity pause for the next time fairly or not.

Finally, I would say that if you do not feel you are ready, you will never feel completely ready until you work one of those games. Even when you feel you know what you need to, until you have done it several times, you will not feel comfortable. It is kind of like riding a bike without training wheels. You will never know until you take the training wheels off if you can ride without them.

Peace
Old Sat Sep 13, 2008, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member

I agree, you'll know. I also think that as soon as you get the inkling, go for it. The only place to really learn is on the court at that level, no amount of jv will totally get you ready for varsity. My area uses assignors, so they have a tendency to work younger officials into the various levels. Maybe you can start with some of the "not-so" competitive varsity games in your area.
Old Sat Sep 13, 2008, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member

You'll improve more quickly if you work with better officials.

No matter when you start working varsity, it's going to be an adjustment.

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith