The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2008, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Question A rule that i can't find the answer for.

I had it come up in a game a while ago...where a player takes a 3 point shot from outside the 3 point line, the defender jumps from inside the 3 point line and hits the ball with his finger tips and the shot still goes in.

Is this still counted as a 3 pointer or just 2?

I haven't been able to get a definate answer on this one
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2008, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkleton View Post
I had it come up in a game a while ago...where a player takes a 3 point shot from outside the 3 point line, the defender jumps from inside the 3 point line and hits the ball with his finger tips and the shot still goes in.

Is this still counted as a 3 pointer or just 2?

I haven't been able to get a definate answer on this one
3 points. Look in the early part of rule 5 (iirc) and the related cases where it talks about the value of baskets
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2008, 09:51am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,344
Memory Lane ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
3 points. Look in the early part of rule 5 (iirc) and the related cases where it talks about the value of baskets
Agree. Three points.

However, when the three point line was first added to the NFHS rules, wasn't there some question about this situation, and weren't there further rule changes, case book situations, or points of emphasis that cleared that up in a year or two?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2008, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Rule 5-2-1.
Casebook 5.2.1 Situation C (b).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2008, 11:45am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

Think of it this way. Does the touch by the defender qualify as one of the definitions that a shot would end? No. Therefore the shot is still considered as the original shot when it goes through the basket and therefore is worth three points.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
It should count as 3 points.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 12:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,344
Early Three Point Problems, Fact, or Fiction ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
Rule 5-2-1.
Casebook 5.2.1 Situation C (b).
BayStateRef: Thanks for the citations. For those coaches and/or fanboys who don't have a casebook:

5.2.1 Situation C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. Ruling: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.

Again I ask, when the three point line was first added to the NFHS rules, wasn't there some question about this situation, and weren't there further rule changes, case book situations, or points of emphasis that cleared that up in a year or two?

Also, when the three point line was first added to the NFHS rules, wasn't there some question about whether of not the ball that went in from behind the three point line was a pass, or a shot, and, again, weren't there further rule changes, case book situations, or points of emphasis that cleared that up in a year or two, such as:

5.2.1 Situation B: With 2:45 left in the second quarter, B1 has the ball on the left wing in Team B's frontcourt, standing behind the three-point arc. B5 makes a backdoor cut toward the basket. B1 passes the ball toward the ring and B5 leaps for the potential "alley-oop" dunk. The ball, however, enters and passes through the goal directly from B1's pass and is not touched by B5. Ruling: Score three points for Team B. A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal.

Come on Jurassic Referee, Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., and you other experienced, but not necessarily old, veterans. Am I dreaming about these early three point problems, or did they really exist?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Sep 21, 2008 at 12:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Also, when the three point line was first added to the NFHS rules, wasn't there some question about whether of not the ball that went in from behind the three point line was a pass, or a shot, and, again, weren't there further rule changes, case book situations, or points of emphasis that cleared that up in a year or two, such as:

5.2.1 Situation B: With 2:45 left in the second quarter, B1 has the ball on the left wing in Team B's frontcourt, standing behind the three-point arc. B5 makes a backdoor cut toward the basket. B1 passes the ball toward the ring and B5 leaps for the potential "alley-oop" dunk. The ball, however, enters and passes through the goal directly from B1's pass and is not touched by B5. Ruling: Score three points for Team B. A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal.
The rule was changed in 2001 or 2002, if memory serves me. Previously the official had to deem the "pass" from beyond the 3-point line that went in the basket to be a try. The rule change allowed any "try, tap or thrown ball" from beyond the line that went in the basket to count for three points.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and Back - Please help on this hard to find rule justjames Basketball 14 Wed Jan 10, 2007 12:01pm
Question I can't find an answer to in the book kokayne Basketball 6 Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:41pm
Simple question, but can't find answer Ump180 Baseball 21 Sat Jul 05, 2003 08:33pm
Cannot find NFHS rule IUgrad92 Basketball 20 Wed Feb 12, 2003 10:38am
Please find rule shipwreck Softball 6 Tue Jul 24, 2001 10:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1