The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Technical and disqualification

Scenario:
AAU games, last 30 seconds. 2 point difference. Team A cmae with only 6 players, one already fouled out. Kid from team A steals ball goes coast to coast, splits 2 defenders and is fouled, for a 3 point play attempt. Kid is so excited he turns and gets in the face of the defender, pulls up his shirt and shouts in the kids face. My partner hits him immediately with the techincal foul. Turns out to be his 5th.

So team "A" now has 4 players left. We have the free throw attempt for team "A" and the technical against team "A".

We had team "A" coach appoint a player to shoot the one free thrower. Then went to the other end to shoot the 2 technical free throws and gave team "B" the ball.

Were we correct? anything we missed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Was your partner Zebra06?

How Do You Like This Scenario?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:54am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnyd
Scenario:
AAU games, last 30 seconds. 2 point difference. Team A came with only 6 players, one already fouled out. Kid from team A steals ball goes coast to coast, splits 2 defenders and is fouled, for a 3 point play attempt. Kid is so excited he turns and gets in the face of the defender, pulls up his shirt and shouts in the kids face. My partner hits him immediately with the techincal foul. Turns out to be his 5th.

So team "A" now has 4 players left. We have the free throw attempt for team "A" and the technical against team "A".

We had team "A" coach appoint a player to shoot the one free thrower. Then went to the other end to shoot the 2 technical free throws and gave team "B" the ball.

Were we correct? anything we missed?
Deja vu?

All rulings sound good.

Note that when you asked the coach for a player to shoot the free throw, the player that already fouled out was not one of his options. Since there are no other substitutes left, the coach may choose a player on the court at the time of the fouls. A's free throw will be with the lane cleared, as will B's free throws. B throw-in at the DL.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Never Mind

Apparently my partner already asked this question last week. I just scrolled down and read all the reponses. We did it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:56am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnyd
Were we correct? anything we missed?
You forgot the part where the coach claims, "We don't call that in this league."
Other than that, looks like you got it right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Technical - Player Disqualification coach41 Basketball 17 Wed Dec 05, 2007 09:03am
Disqualification howie719 Basketball 7 Wed Jan 03, 2007 03:24pm
disqualification deecee Basketball 17 Tue May 23, 2006 03:13am
Disqualification wolfpup27 Football 42 Thu Oct 21, 2004 03:46pm
Disqualification Mark Dexter Basketball 8 Sat Feb 01, 2003 01:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1