![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Please tell me if you would count the basket in these two situations. 1. A1 is driving to the basket and is fouled by B1 who pushes him while he is in the act of shooting. The push causes A1 to travel before he releases his try for goal. The attempt is successful. 2. Same play only A1 is near the sideline and the push causes A1 to step OOB prior to the release of the try. The attempt is successful. I believe that these plays more clearly illustrate the point at hand. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In both your plays, A1 violates BEFORE the shot is released...violations that potentially aided A1 in making the shot and ones that may have happened anyway. In my situation, the shot is away, the FT shooter is not at risk of stepping across the line (and stepping on the FT line is only relevant regarding a possible rebound, not the success of the shot) when a player from B caused A to step on the line. FWIW, I'm disallowing the shot in your two plays....again...apples and oranges. Recall this following situation and how it is nearly unanimously called: A1 driving and going up for the shot obviously gets hit across the arm (or gets pushed) by B1. A1 subsequently crashes into B4 (who has LGP). Call: Foul on B1....subsequent contact ignored. We simply consider B1's foul to have caused the subdquent contact and do not penalize A1 at all. The rules are a framework for typical situations but merely guideline for non-typical situations. When something not anticipated by the rules happens, we've got to uses the intents of the rules to do the right thing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
FALSE DOUBLE FOUL 4.19.9 SITUATION A: A1 leaps high and is fouled by B1 as he/she taps the ball which subsequently goes through A's basket. A1 fouls B2 in returning to the floor. RULING: This is a false double foul. The foul by B1 does not cause the ball to become dead. However, the player-control foul by A1 does cause the ball to become dead and also dictates that no goal can be scored. Since the goal is not scored, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed along the lane as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. (4-1; 4-11; 4-41-1; 6-7-7 Exception c: 6-7-4; 7-5-5) PS So if something that happens AFTER the release of the ball can't possibly impact the shot, why do we cancel a goal for a PC foul on an airborne shooter? Because the rule says so. Is that more to your apples and oranges liking? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The "right" call is not always be found in the book.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 03, 2008 at 06:41pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Free Throw Situation! | bigdogrunnin | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 19, 2006 01:08pm |
| Free Throw Situation | rpirtle | Basketball | 5 | Sun Dec 14, 2003 09:49pm |
| Free Throw Situation | Ridgeben | Basketball | 16 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:23pm |
| Free Throw Situation | Viking32 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm |
| Free Throw situation | camster | Basketball | 2 | Sun Nov 17, 2002 11:14am |