![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I just posted above, the shooter's violation must also be penalized if the goal is made. You can't count an illegally scored FT. So BadNews is correct that disconcertion doesn't eliminate the requirement that the thrower not cross the line. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But if, in a game, I see a defender violate then deliberately do something to draw the shooter into the lane, the only violation I'm going to call is the one on the defender...it is not the spirit or intent of the rule to allow the defender to attempt to get the shooter to violate.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Push/Pull the shooter....or fake doing so causing the shooter to step out of the way and into the lane. (added) Why would someone do this? Probably the same reason Billy Gillespie instructed one of his players to goaltend a FT....in an attempt to get an advantage. Situation: 10 seconds remaining...A1 on the line for two after being fouled while shooting....and not in the bonus. B4 accidentally steps in early. In order to ensure that A1 doesn't get 3 chances for 2 shots, B4 lets A1 release then pulls A1 into the lane. What do we have? By Nevs. interp, we call both violations....on B4 and A1 (since A1 was in the lane before the ball hit), wipe the bucket, probably a foul on B4, and award a substitute throw, .
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jul 02, 2008 at 07:28pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Please tell me if you would count the basket in these two situations. 1. A1 is driving to the basket and is fouled by B1 who pushes him while he is in the act of shooting. The push causes A1 to travel before he releases his try for goal. The attempt is successful. 2. Same play only A1 is near the sideline and the push causes A1 to step OOB prior to the release of the try. The attempt is successful. I believe that these plays more clearly illustrate the point at hand. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BTW my ruling is a lane violation on B4 as well as an INTENTIONAL PERSONAL FOUL. However, in order to count the FT still must be attempted from behind the line. Therefore, in this particular instance the FT won't count if the shooter is pulled or pushed over the line, but a substitute throw will be awarded. If the shooter were pulled six feet into the lane before tossing the ball up and into the basket, there is no way that I could defend scoring it. EDITED: I changed my mind on this ruling!
Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Jul 03, 2008 at 03:18pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Free Throw Situation! | bigdogrunnin | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 19, 2006 01:08pm |
| Free Throw Situation | rpirtle | Basketball | 5 | Sun Dec 14, 2003 09:49pm |
| Free Throw Situation | Ridgeben | Basketball | 16 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:23pm |
| Free Throw Situation | Viking32 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm |
| Free Throw situation | camster | Basketball | 2 | Sun Nov 17, 2002 11:14am |