![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. There is a difference between the NCAA and the NFHS rules on this. 2. Was this a pass to an OOB teammate after a made goal and a time-out? Camron poses this scenario. 3. Was this a throw-in pass that was heading into the court? Answers: 1. In the NCAA the defender can not reach across the plane until the ball breaks the OOB line. In NFHS the defender can reach across as soon as the throw-in pass is released from the thrower's hands. 2. If this was an OOB pass between teammates after the opponent scored, which likely it was not since you handed the ball to the thrower, then it is a technical foul for the defender to break the plane and contact the ball in both the NCAA and NFHS rule sets. 3. If this was a throw-in pass heading to an inbounds teammate, then your play was legal at the high school level (NFHS), but illegal at the college (NCAA) level. See #1. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Technical on defense during Throw in? | jritchie | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:53pm |
| More Reaching across throw-in boundry line | mlancast | Basketball | 4 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 03:17pm |
| Reaching across throw-in boundry line | APHP | Basketball | 7 | Sat Mar 02, 2002 08:16pm |
| Throw-in plane | PP | Basketball | 8 | Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:42pm |
| Stepping/reaching out of bounds during a throw-in | Lotto | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 18, 2001 01:53pm |