The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 09:09am
Official Forum Member

First Game for Rookie

I have just attended my first clinic session this past weekend and I will be working some summer league games this week. These will be the first games I have ever worked, so anyone have any last minute advice for me? Maybe there is a mistake that all rookies make that I can try to avoid.

I have been hanging around the forum here for a few months and "listening" trying to soak up some of the knowledge around here, but haven't really posted much. But I have to say this forum has become a very valuable asset in learning how to officiate.
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 09:14am
Courageous When Prudent

When you blow your whistle always do something with your hands. 99% of the time it will be either a fist or an open hand raised in the air.
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 09:57am
Official Forum Member

Remember who the foul is on!!

Sounds petty, but I've whistled a foul, turned to the table, and had a brain fart as to who I whistled for the foul!
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 10:19am
Official Forum Member

Go slower. Try to make your call, signals and reporting in what seems to you as slow motion. Everyone goes too fast when they are new.
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 11:25am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Self-talk.

Example: [Pretend that you're the lead.] Say to yourself, "the ball is out top... I've got off-ball in the key."

Self-talk can do awesome things, including preventing bad habits when you're starting out, and aim to form proper habits as you develop.
Old Mon Jun 02, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member