NFHS rules apply.
First of all, lets deal with inbounding. I was doing a college intramural game the other night. Team A makes a basket. B1 picks up the ball from the net near the block and passes it to B2, who is located on the wing. B2 starts to dribble up court on a "fast break". I was stunned realizing that not only did B1 not legally inbound the basketball he didn't even take a step near the baseline. He was not within 3 feet of the baseball/ The only thing I could think of, as I'm standing at the baseline all lonely, is to start my count. The result of the play was five seconds.

How should one handle this situation? I have thought of it since then and don't know how else to call it.
Second of all, someone please shed some light on slapping of the backboard. The rule has always confused me. When is this act legal? illegal? Thanks everyone, as always
-Josh