The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2000, 12:49pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
Post

I believe the clock resets. NCAA rule 2.13.b states that the shot clock operator should "stop the timing device and reset it when team control is again established after the team loses possession of the ball, WHEN A FOUL OCCURS, when a held ball occurs except for 2.13.c.4, when a try for goal strikes the basket ring, or when a violation occurs.

2.13.c.4 states that "during team control as defined in Rule 4.7.b, a defensive player causes a held ball and the possession arrow favors the offensive team.

You didn't have that here. The double foul caused you to go to the arrow not a defensive player causing a held ball.

Therefore, in this situation, you go to the arrow but the shot clock is fully reset regardless of whether the offensive team got the ball according to the AP or not.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1