The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 15, 2008, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The screener did his job. He took the defender out of the play. If you call the foul, the defender is now being penalized twice....and both times for the same screen. Note that displacement isn't a factor unless the defender tried to run through the screen.

That's the philosophy used in both high school and college ball to call screens. NFHS rule 4-40-7&8 lay it out. NCAA rules use similar language.
Thanks for the reference. I'm not an official but do have a NFHS rulebook.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I wish I'd thought of it first Mark Padgett Basketball 0 Tue Jan 22, 2008 05:42pm
Never thought of this one . . . greymule Baseball 13 Sat Sep 16, 2006 07:06pm
Never thought I'd see this one... TussAgee11 Baseball 13 Mon Apr 03, 2006 03:58pm
Thats what I thought IREFU2 Basketball 11 Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:12pm
I thought i'd never see it! ace Basketball 13 Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1