The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Never thought I'd see it... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42736-never-thought-id-see.html)

Camron Rust Sat Mar 15, 2008 01:34pm

Never thought I'd see it...
 
GT on a FT, just happened in the Kentucky vs. Georgia game. Officials correctly called it a T.

Situation: UGA on the line for for FT's. UK player loses balance and steps in the lane VERY early. Knowing he's going to be called for the violation, he decides to make sure the shooter has to shoot again and swats the ball away before it gets to the rim. Whistle blows at first for the violation and after a brief hesitation, the Trail signals a T. Dumb play...and that's why that rule exists.

JoeTheRef Sat Mar 15, 2008 01:47pm

In overtime and Kentucky was down 2 with 1.2 seconds and he goaltends the free throw...

jdw3018 Sat Mar 15, 2008 02:15pm

So, UGA was awarded 1 for the goaltended FT, then shot the two Ts.

In NCAA, whose ball where? Is that a POI T, or 2 and the ball?

ref2coach Sat Mar 15, 2008 02:37pm

Almost as interesting is the action before the KY TO after the UG made basket. KY player moving alone end line to attempt TI, KY teammate obtains what appears to be a legal position to screen. UG player focusing on guarding the in-bounder makes significant contact to the chest of the KY screener, displacing the screener. Referees pass on calling the foul.

Why? Player worked to get proper position, in-bounder timed his run properly, defender failed to be aware of the situation and apparently fouled his opponent. Why is calling that foul any less meritorious than a defender fouling an opponent on a last second shot.

FYI not a KY fan, in fact somewhat anti KY after being seated among several KY fans when my wife and I attended the Final 4 in Indianapolis several years ago. They were needlessly obnoxious to 2 people just there to enjoy the games without having any "dog in the fight."

Back In The Saddle Sat Mar 15, 2008 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach
Almost as interesting is the action before the KY TO after the UG made basket. KY player moving alone end line to attempt TI, KY teammate obtains what appears to be a legal position to screen. UG player focusing on guarding the in-bounder makes significant contact to the chest of the KY screener, displacing the screener. Referees pass on calling the foul.

Why? Player worked to get proper position, in-bounder timed his run properly, defender failed to be aware of the situation and apparently fouled his opponent. Why is calling that foul any less meritorious than a defender fouling an opponent on a last second shot.

FYI not a KY fan, in fact somewhat anti KY after being seated among several KY fans when my wife and I attended the Final 4 in Indianapolis several years ago. They were needlessly obnoxious to 2 people just there to enjoy the games without having any "dog in the fight."

I must be missing something. Where's the foul? Just because a screener gets run over, flattened, or knocked into the third row, does not mean there's a foul. If, as you say, the UG player was focusing on guarding the thrower and didn't notice the screener, that's incidental contact.

Now if the UG player knew he was there, and decided to "play through" the screen, then it's a different story.

cshs81 Sat Mar 15, 2008 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
I must be missing something. Where's the foul? Just because a screener gets run over, flattened, or knocked into the third row, does not mean there's a foul. If, as you say, the UG player was focusing on guarding the thrower and didn't notice the screener, that's incidental contact.

Now if the UG player knew he was there, and decided to "play through" the screen, then it's a different story.

How do you know what the UGA player "knows?"

grunewar Sat Mar 15, 2008 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
In overtime and Kentucky was down 2 with 1.2 seconds and he goaltends the free throw...

I loved the way the two officials got together to briefly discuss it and made the call very quickly. They were all over it. Good job!

PS - Did you see the expression on the kids face who got the T? It was like, "Really? Hmm, I didn't know that."

Jurassic Referee Sat Mar 15, 2008 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
How do you know what the UGA player "knows?"

Any experienced official knows when a defensive player has seen a screen but decides to run through it anyway without trying to stop or go around. If you don't know, you won't be working at the D1 level very long.

Jurassic Referee Sat Mar 15, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach
KY player moving alone end line to attempt TI, KY teammate obtains what appears to be a legal position to screen. UG player focusing on guarding the in-bounder makes significant contact to the chest of the KY screener, displacing the screener. Referees pass on calling the foul.

Why? Player worked to get proper position, in-bounder timed his run properly, defender failed to be aware of the situation and apparently fouled his opponent. Why is calling that foul any less meritorious than a defender fouling an opponent on a last second shot.

The screener did his job. He took the defender out of the play. If you call the foul, the defender is now being penalized twice....and both times for the same screen. Note that displacement isn't a factor unless the defender tried to run through the screen.

That's the philosophy used in both high school and college ball to call screens. NFHS rule 4-40-7&8 lay it out. NCAA rules use similar language.

cshs81 Sat Mar 15, 2008 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The screener did his job. He took the defender out of the play. If you call the foul, the defender is now being penalized twice....and both times for the same screen. Note that displacement isn't a factor unless the defender tried to run through the screen.

That's the philosophy used in both high school and college ball to call screens. NFHS rule 4-40-7&8 lay it out. NCAA rules use similar language.

Thanks for the reference. I'm not an official but do have a NFHS rulebook.

ref2coach Sat Mar 15, 2008 03:53pm

OK, How much does "mind reading" cost? Do we order that from Honigs? ;)

BITS & JR thanks for the amplification. :) Still learning.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 15, 2008 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The screener did his job. He took the defender out of the play. If you call the foul, the defender is now being penalized twice....and both times for the same screen. Note that displacement isn't a factor unless the defender tried to run through the screen.

That's the philosophy used in both high school and college ball to call screens. NFHS rule 4-40-7&8 lay it out. NCAA rules use similar language.

I disagree. Displacement is a factor if the defender could see the screen, could have stopped, but ran into it anyway. The defender only gets a free pass for a knockdown on a blind screen.

That said, and being a Kentucky fan, i agree with the no-call. The only way UK could have drawn a foul on that play would be to actually throw the ball in to the screener just before the defender got to the screen. Having the ball or trying to catch the pass and being displaced would be the only way that contact would become a foul.

socalreff Sat Mar 15, 2008 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I disagree. Displacement is a factor if the defender could see the screen, could have stopped, but ran into it anyway. The defender only gets a free pass for a knockdown on a blind screen.
That said, and being a Kentucky fan, i agree with the no-call. The only way UK could have drawn a foul on that play would be to actually throw the ball in to the screener just before the defender got to the screen. Having the ball or trying to catch the pass and being displaced would be the only way that contact would become a foul.

I see. So in your games displacement can only be a foul when committed against a player with the ball. Sheesh!!

So if I don't see a screen anywhere on the court because my teammate doesn't tell me, I get to play football?!? Awesome! I've always dreamed about being a linebacker.
Please show me where it says that displacement is only a foul depending on where it occurs. Anyone?

socalreff Sat Mar 15, 2008 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I disagree. Displacement is a factor if the defender could see the screen, could have stopped, but ran into it anyway. The defender only gets a free pass for a knockdown on a blind screen.

That said, and being a Kentucky fan, i agree with the no-call. The only way UK could have drawn a foul on that play would be to actually throw the ball in to the screener just before the defender got to the screen. Having the ball or trying to catch the pass and being displaced would be the only way that contact would become a foul.

Where does it say anywhere that displacement is not a foul. The defender clearly went through the screener and knocked him to the floor. It is not the official's job to think about where it is. Some of these same people here defended the call in the Villanova v. Georgetown game. Ya'll gotta be consistent.

Back In The Saddle Sat Mar 15, 2008 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff
Where does it say anywhere that displacement is not a foul. The defender clearly went through the screener and knocked him to the floor. It is not the official's job to think about where it is. Some of these same people here defended the call in the Villanova v. Georgetown game. Ya'll gotta be consistent.

And if, in the official's judgement, the defender didn't know the screen was there, it's incidental contact. Not a foul. You do own a rule book, don't you? :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1