The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
The casebook uses the words passes directly over.

To me directly is intended to mean directly from the front to the back or directly from the back to the front and not over the corner.

I have a difficult time believing that shot passed DIRECTLY over the backboard, because it didn't.

I'd bet that had that shot not had enough air under it it would have struck the side of the backboard and not the back, and for it to fit the directly over stipulation it would need to strike the back.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/notebo...book/atr080309
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Why no T on UCLA for coming on to the floor with 0.1 remaining?

Also, they should've reset the clock all the way to 1.5 due to the violation.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden

Last edited by A Pennsylvania Coach; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 08:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Why no T on UCLA for coming on to the floor with 0.1 remaining?

Also, they should've reset the clock all the way to 1.5 due to the violation.
Could have easily been a T.
Can't have a violation without a touch. With a touch some time has to come off, as in 0.3 seconds to leave it at 1.2.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
http://ballhype.com/video/crazy_ucla_cal_finish/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The casebook uses the words passes directly over.

To me directly is intended to mean directly from the front to the back or directly from the back to the front and not over the corner.

I have a difficult time believing that shot passed DIRECTLY over the backboard, because it didn't.

I'd bet that had that shot not had enough air under it it would have struck the side of the backboard and not the back, and for it to fit the directly over stipulation it would need to strike the back.
Imagine the backboard extended out the top to the ceiling...any spot on that extended backboard is directly over the backboard. If the ball passes through that extended backboard in any direction, it has passed over the backboard. The only question that is unanswered is how much of the ball? Any part? The center? The whole thing?

Me? I'm not calling it if it is just the edge of the ball....but will call it if it is the center but a little of the ball is still outside the plane of the backboard.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,531
Work It Out With A Pencil ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I'm not calling it if it is just the edge of the ball, but will call it if it is the center but a little of the ball is still outside the plane of the backboard.
I got it all figured out:

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Billy,

Your goaltending sitch is correctable and is an AR under ncaa 2.11 (correctable error rule).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,109
You Tube Versions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXTQRCt8Zu4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfze65_u0c0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
I think I may be changing my mind on this one, at least for NCAA. From the case book:

Quote:
A.R. 25: Team A has the ball and is working for a shot. The shot-clock horn sounds and then A1 shoots and scores an apparent field goal. The shot-clock horn is not heard by the officials on the playing court. Play
continues with Team B inbounding the ball. With 20 seconds remaining
on the shot clock, the official calls traveling on B1. At that time,
the official timer calls the referee to the scorers’ table to explain that
the shot clock had sounded before A1 scored the field goal.

RULING: When, in the official’s judgment, the goal was erroneously counted
while the game clock was running, the goal shall be canceled. Since the clock
was running in this case, the official has until the second live ball after the
error to make the correction. The error shall be correctable until the ball is
put in play after the traveling call.
(Rule 2-12.3 and 2-12.1.e)
I guess, to the NCAA, this does count as erroneously counting a goal. It would be interesting to see it applied, though.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cal/UCLA DD?? rainmaker Basketball 25 Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm
Usc-ucla rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country Dakota Softball 1 Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW tcblue13 Softball 3 Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm
Hot in the North Country also WestMichBlue Softball 4 Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1