![]() |
|
|||
Your Words, Not Mine ...
Quote:
Your words: "corner of the backboard". My questions: Is the corner of the backboard, part of the backboard? Is the corner of a piece of wood part of the piece of wood? My guess, yes it is, for both of my questions. By my logic, and your words, the ball passed over the backboard. However, it certainly was a tough call, and, in my opinion, after watching the replay, it was as close to being a violation, as it was to being a legal basket. |
|
|||
Quote:
Need Douchebag of the Universe to weigh in here...
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Seriously, I think that you missed what I was saying earlier. You have to focus on the part of the rule that says "passes over" -- to me the UCLA shot does not meet this definition. You have to use common sense and the spirit of the rule. It will be interesting to see what the NCAA says and if there is any clarification, but I am sticking with the officials on this one. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
And when it comes from the top, you can take it to the bank! ![]() Probably the greatest honor that I've ever received...... |
|
|||
I'm Focusing ...
Quote:
Here's the NFHS Rule (I don't have the NCAA rule): Note: When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard. By "it", I assume that you mean the ball. You used "barely", not nearly. Barely means it went over, not by much, but it went over. If you had used nearly, that would have meant it didn't go over, it just missed. You described the part of the backboard that it went over as the "corner of the backboard". If you're walking by a table, and hit your hip on the corner of the table, it hurts, because the corner of the table is part of the table. If you jump high enough, you can hit your head on the bottom corner of the backboard, and it will hurt, because all corners of the backboard are part of the backboard. So by your own description, not my description, of what you observed in the replay: The ball barely, which means it went over, not by much, but it went over, went over the corner of the backboard, which, because it would hurt, is part of the backboard, which is basically describing a violation of the rule. If this is what happened, another part of the equation could be "it". How much of the ball needs to go over the backboard? I believe that in soccer a rolling ball must be completely over the boundary line to be considered out of bounds. In this play, how much of the ball went over the backboard, just the edge of the ball, 50% of the ball's diameter, more than 50% of the ball's diameter, or the whole ball. I believe that that's the key to this situation being called correctly, or incorrectly, and, at this point, I have nothing to offer regarding the definition of the ball in this situation. I believe that the definition of the ball, if it can be defined in this situation, is the most difficult part of this situation to interpret. As I stated in an earlier thread: It certainly was a tough call, and, in my opinion, after watching the replay, it was as close to being a violation, as it was to being a legal basket. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
I am saying that it should be a legal basket and NOT an OOB violation both by the spirit and the letter of the rule. You cannot parse what I wrote earlier and try to make me say something else. |
|
|||
Quote:
So how come he didn't call it at the time?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
You Said It, Not Me ...
Quote:
I'm not disagreeing with your interpretation of the call, all I'm saying is that by the way you described the call, it appears to be a violation. Now, if you had said: "It was nearly over the corner of the backboard", then your description of the replay would match your interpretation. Or, if you had said: "It was barely over the highest point of the backboard, but slightly off to one side", then your description of the replay would match your interpretation. But you didn't say either of these, you described the replay as "It was barely over the corner of the backboard". That's a direct violation of the rule that states, "The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboard from any direction." As for me, from watching the replay, it was as close to being a violation, as it was to being a legal basket. I can't decide if it passed over the backboard, or not. I can't decide if it barely, or nearly, passed over the backboard, or not. I can't decide if it passed over the corner of the backboard, or the side of the backboard. And if I'm not sure of a call, I don't call it, and it's not a violation. But you seem to be sure of the play: "It was barely over the corner of the backboard". Don't you see how your description of the replay contradicts your interpretation of the play? How does, "It was barely over the corner of the backboard", not match with, "The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboard from any direction"? Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 10, 2008 at 12:23am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
This play has never been and is not an OOB call... I guess that's all I can say about it. If you want to dissect words and get hyper-technical you are going to have to do that with someone else. |
|
|||
Let's Agree To Agree ...
Quote:
"Another part of the equation could be "it". How much of the ball needs to go over the backboard? I believe that in soccer a rolling ball must be completely over the boundary line to be considered out of bounds. In this play, how much of the ball went over the backboard, just the edge of the ball, 50% of the ball's diameter, more than 50% of the ball's diameter, or the whole ball. I believe that that's the key to this situation being called correctly, or incorrectly, and, at this point, I have nothing to offer regarding the definition of the ball in this situation. I believe that the definition of the ball, if it can be defined in this situation, is the most difficult part of this situation to interpret." But you didn't take a bite at it, not even a nibble, until now. So now the question remains: How much of the ball must go over the top of the backboard to be considered to be passing over the top of the backboard? I don't know, and again, if I'm not sure of something, I'm not calling it a violation. Play on. If this happens in one of my high school games, I hope that I'm the lead, looking at the rebounders in the paint, not the trail, looking at the flight of the ball. Finally, and I think we can both agree on this, tough call, in either live action, or on the replay. |
|
|||
Change the rule or these types of instances will just keep happening albeit they are unusual. It would be really bad to have a ref waive off a basket in a big game then turn out it should have counted. I guess the FIFA rule is anywhere? Excluding shots in the key would be a solution. Horse games, pickup games those shots outside the key are going to count and they should in NCAA and college.
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is a reason for a rule change?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Cal/UCLA DD?? | rainmaker | Basketball | 25 | Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm |
Usc-ucla | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm |
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country | Dakota | Softball | 1 | Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am |
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW | tcblue13 | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm |
Hot in the North Country also | WestMichBlue | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm |