![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Why no T on UCLA for coming on to the floor with 0.1 remaining?
Also, they should've reset the clock all the way to 1.5 due to the violation.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out. -- John Wooden Last edited by A Pennsylvania Coach; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 08:58am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Can't have a violation without a touch. With a touch some time has to come off, as in 0.3 seconds to leave it at 1.2.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you? |
|
|||
Backboard Shot ...
I would like to see more opinions on the correctable error part of this discussion:
NFHS: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: a. Failure to award a merited free throw. b. Awarding an unmerited free throw. c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw. d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket. e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score. If this had been a NFHS game, could the officials, within the time frame of a correctable error, stop the game, discuss the possibility that the over-the-backboard rule may have been inadvertently set aside on the play, and decide to count, or cancel the score? Isn't that what 2-10 is for? If an official erroneously counts a basket during a player control foul, and the scorekeeper adds two points to the team's total score, can't an official correct the error during the correctable error time frame, and cancel the score? Here's one we might see a couple times a season: Two man game, three point shot is taken from foul line extended, on lead's side, possible "dual coverage" area, one official signals three attempt, and three score, the other official doesn't signal anything, scorekeeper adds three points to the team total, one official decides to discuss the play with partner, blows the whistle after the throwin after the made field goal to discuss, time limit for correctable error hasn't expired, officials decide that the shooter did step on the line. Can't the officials correct the erroneously counted score by canceling the extra point? In my opinion, all three of these situations involve correctable errors, that can be corrected in the prescribed time frame. These are not bookkeeping errors, or mistakes, that can be corrected up until the officials' jurisdiction ends. Nor are these errors, or mistakes, that do not fall under Rule 2-10, and cannot be corrected. Please correct me if I'm wrong, just be sure to correct me no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 11:30am. |
|
|||
Quote:
My opinion? Silly monkeys...... |
|
|||
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
Me? I'm not calling it if it is just the edge of the ball....but will call it if it is the center but a little of the ball is still outside the plane of the backboard.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Good Point, But ...
Quote:
Doesn't Rule 2-10 allow us to do exactly what you (edited) stated, once the officials are 100% sure that they are dealing with a correctable error? Let's look at a different example, let's say the example I gave of the three point shot that is later decided by the officials to be only a two point shot, with a few alterations, for sake of argument. At the time of the shot Team A is tied with Team B. The supposed three pointer puts Team A up by three points. The "play go(es) back and forth as long as the ball doesn't become dead, maybe for 5-6 different possessions, and at the first dead ball" one official, the one who thinks it was a two point shot, for the first time since the shot, decides to look at the scoreboard, sees that three points were added to Team A instead of the two he thought Team A should have received. Blows the whistle for a conference with his partner. Two Point Official: "Did you count that last basket as a two or three? I didn't see your signal before, or after, the attempt". Three Point Official: "I counted it as a three. I was 95% sure, but I got blocked out by the opponent right before the release of the ball. I'm sure that he was behind the arc a split second before the release. Did you get a better look?". Two Point Official: "Yes, I got a great look. Right before the release, the shooter just barely touched the line. I'm 100% sure. I guess that's why the coach is complaining." Three Point Official: "OK, I'll go along with you since you got a good, 100%, sure angle on the play. I'll go over to the table, invite the two coaches over, and I'll make sure that the last basket was recorded as a two pointer". Could it happen, by rule, like this? I think that it could. Now, the important question, the one that I wanted to revisit. Is the over-the backboard play, the player control foul counting the basket play, the two or three point play, or your goaltending play, covered by rule 2-10, specifically the part about erroneously counting or canceling a score? Again, if, and it's a big if, these situations are intended to be covered by Rule 2-10, a large amount of time can pass between the error and the correction. Bottom line for me: Over the Backboard: Not sure if it's correctable. Player Control Foul Basket Counted: Correctable Error. Two Or Three Points: Correctable Error. Goaltending: Not sure if it's corrrectable. Looking forward to responses from Jurassic Referee, or from other Forum members. |
|
|||
Work It Out With A Pencil ...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Billy,
Your goaltending sitch is correctable and is an AR under ncaa 2.11 (correctable error rule).
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
|||
I think I may be changing my mind on this one, at least for NCAA. From the case book:
Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
from any direction." It is the "passes over" part that needs to be looked at. I don't think that you can say that the UCLA shot "passed over" the backboard necessarily. It was barely over the corner of the backboard. I have never seen that called as an OOB and don't think it should be. The two D1 officials I discussed the play with last night did not think so either -- and one of them is on the Pac 10 roster (not in that game though). Also, others are correct that this is not a reviewable play. In my view, the officials got it right and the ESPN commentators are making a big deal out of something that they know nothing about. Also, Doug Gottlieb is a complete douchebag for his comments about Dave Libbey last night. That is all. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Cal/UCLA DD?? | rainmaker | Basketball | 25 | Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm |
Usc-ucla | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm |
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country | Dakota | Softball | 1 | Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am |
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW | tcblue13 | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm |
Hot in the North Country also | WestMichBlue | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm |