The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
The ball must pass completely over from front to back or back to front, the shot went across the corner.
The rule says "any direction." Your statement is false.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 16
In FIBA, it is legal, as long as it does not touch any of the supports of the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 162
I'm glad the basket counted because it looked like a great play. I just saw that Bird play two days ago. I think they said they didn't count it at first and then counted it after talking.
Perhaps they could change the rule to only if the offensive player is in the key. Otherwise it seems really difficult to tell. every kid practices that type of shot going over the backboard from the side. Underneath should be illegal
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
The casebook uses the words passes directly over.

To me directly is intended to mean directly from the front to the back or directly from the back to the front and not over the corner.

I have a difficult time believing that shot passed DIRECTLY over the backboard, because it didn't.

I'd bet that had that shot not had enough air under it it would have struck the side of the backboard and not the back, and for it to fit the directly over stipulation it would need to strike the back.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/notebo...book/atr080309
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Why no T on UCLA for coming on to the floor with 0.1 remaining?

Also, they should've reset the clock all the way to 1.5 due to the violation.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden

Last edited by A Pennsylvania Coach; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 08:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Why no T on UCLA for coming on to the floor with 0.1 remaining?

Also, they should've reset the clock all the way to 1.5 due to the violation.
Could have easily been a T.
Can't have a violation without a touch. With a touch some time has to come off, as in 0.3 seconds to leave it at 1.2.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
http://ballhype.com/video/crazy_ucla_cal_finish/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The casebook uses the words passes directly over.

To me directly is intended to mean directly from the front to the back or directly from the back to the front and not over the corner.

I have a difficult time believing that shot passed DIRECTLY over the backboard, because it didn't.

I'd bet that had that shot not had enough air under it it would have struck the side of the backboard and not the back, and for it to fit the directly over stipulation it would need to strike the back.
Imagine the backboard extended out the top to the ceiling...any spot on that extended backboard is directly over the backboard. If the ball passes through that extended backboard in any direction, it has passed over the backboard. The only question that is unanswered is how much of the ball? Any part? The center? The whole thing?

Me? I'm not calling it if it is just the edge of the ball....but will call it if it is the center but a little of the ball is still outside the plane of the backboard.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Work It Out With A Pencil ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I'm not calling it if it is just the edge of the ball, but will call it if it is the center but a little of the ball is still outside the plane of the backboard.
I got it all figured out:

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Billy,

Your goaltending sitch is correctable and is an AR under ncaa 2.11 (correctable error rule).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,109
You Tube Versions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXTQRCt8Zu4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfze65_u0c0
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:06pm
Whack! Get Out!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 1,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The rule says "any direction." Your statement is false.
The rule is "The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboard
from any direction."

It is the "passes over" part that needs to be looked at. I don't think that you can say that the UCLA shot "passed over" the backboard necessarily. It was barely over the corner of the backboard.

I have never seen that called as an OOB and don't think it should be. The two D1 officials I discussed the play with last night did not think so either -- and one of them is on the Pac 10 roster (not in that game though).

Also, others are correct that this is not a reviewable play.

In my view, the officials got it right and the ESPN commentators are making a big deal out of something that they know nothing about.

Also, Doug Gottlieb is a complete douchebag for his comments about Dave Libbey last night.

That is all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad
Also, Doug Gottlieb is a complete douchebag for his comments about Dave Libbey last night.
Gottlieb was a douchebag before that comment, but he's not the douchebag of the universe, right Jurassic?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:48pm
Whack! Get Out!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 1,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Gottlieb was a douchebag before that comment
True ... good point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cal/UCLA DD?? rainmaker Basketball 25 Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm
Usc-ucla rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country Dakota Softball 1 Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW tcblue13 Softball 3 Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm
Hot in the North Country also WestMichBlue Softball 4 Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1