The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
The shot was legal.

The ball must pass completely over from front to back or back to front, the shot went across the corner.

I sure hope you all aren't calling OOB violations for balls going across the corner of the back board.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The shot was legal.

The ball must pass completely over from front to back or back to front, the shot went across the corner.

I sure hope you all aren't calling OOB violations for balls going across the corner of the back board.
You may be right. You may not. It looked to me like the entire ball was started behind the backboard and passed over it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 423
Bottom line here, this is one of those calls where you've gotta err on the side of counting the basket and not making a call unless there is an obvious and clear violation, especially if it's not reviewable, which it isn't. So I think they did the right thing by counting the basket. Dave Libbey was the C on that play BTW.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The ball must pass completely over from front to back or back to front, the shot went across the corner.
The word "completely" does not appear in the rule book.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The word "completely" does not appear in the rule book.
So Tony, does that mean if any part of the ball passes over, it's a violation? That's always been my understanding. If so, I think this should have been called.

But I can sure see why it wasn't called. The angle to see it is beastly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 09:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Rectangle Or Kidney ???

The ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by:
a. A player who is out of bounds.
b. Any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary.
c. The supports or back of the backboard.
d. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.
Note: When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
So Tony, does that mean if any part of the ball passes over, it's a violation? That's always been my understanding. If so, I think this should have been called.

But I can sure see why it wasn't called. The angle to see it is beastly.
The case book says if the ball passes directly over the backboard, it's a violation. But I can't find anything that says the entire ball must pass directly or completely over the basketball. So I'd like to see the reference BZ is basing his interp on.

My question is does this qualify as a correctable error?

Same situation in a HS game. Shot is taken with under 5 seconds remaining, goes over the backboard and in. Team B inbounds the ball as the horn sounds. The T comes to the R and says the ball passed over the backboard. This is during the first dead ball after the score. Can the basket be cancelled for erroneously counting a basket?

BTW, I just saw the shot for the first time. I would have counted it.

GO HEELS!!!!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
My question is does this qualify as a correctable error?

Same situation in a HS game. Shot is taken with under 5 seconds remaining, goes over the backboard and in. Team B inbounds the ball as the horn sounds. The T comes to the R and says the ball passed over the backboard. This is during the first dead ball after the score. Can the basket be cancelled for erroneously counting a basket?
RIght, when do the refs "misapply a rule" and when do they just goof uncorrectably?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
My question is does this qualify as a correctable error?

Same situation in a HS game. Shot is taken with under 5 seconds remaining, goes over the backboard and in. Team B inbounds the ball as the horn sounds. The T comes to the R and says the ball passed over the backboard. This is during the first dead ball after the score. Can the basket be cancelled for erroneously counting a basket?
I'd have to say that this is not a CE, for two main reasons.

1. The counting/cancelling a score rule seems to apply to situations where the official judged the situation correctly, but misapplied a rule. Here, the covering official judged it to be a legal shot (perhaps incorrectly), but correctly applied the rule that it should count.

2. If we go with what the T says here, we don't just have a canceled score - we have to go back and have a violation, which may necessitate the dreaded "do over."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I disagree. There is no "do-over." "Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. "
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 07:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I disagree. There is no "do-over." "Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. "
I think that's all the more reason to not allow this as a correctable error.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
I was wondering about the OOB call to put .07 seconds back on the clock. The ball isn't considert OOB until the ball TOUCHES something OOB, not when it crosses the OOB line, right? So...how could ANY time be put back on the clock in that situation?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 162
I thought it hit the player with 1.5 seconds and then hit out of bounds with about .5 to go. Maybe the ball went straight up but think it hit something before time ran out. The clock stopped at .1. Cal put up a weak last shot. Why teams always seem to shoot an outside shot in those situations is strange.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142
I was wondering about the OOB call to put .07 seconds back on the clock. The ball isn't considert OOB until the ball TOUCHES something OOB, not when it crosses the OOB line, right? So...how could ANY time be put back on the clock in that situation?
The clock became dead when the UCLA player punched the ball. I was only watching the ESPN reruns, but I think that's what they went to the monitor to figure out what the time was when the punch occured.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Same situation in a HS game. Shot is taken with under 5 seconds remaining, goes over the backboard and in. Team B inbounds the ball as the horn sounds. The T comes to the R and says the ball passed over the backboard. This is during the first dead ball after the score. Can the basket be cancelled for erroneously counting a basket?
I could see this as a CE. If, for example, one partner clearly saw it pass over the backboard, but didn't know the rule, and the other partner was busy ... doing something else, not sure what. Then they got together and discussed it within the time frame for correcting it.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cal/UCLA DD?? rainmaker Basketball 25 Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm
Usc-ucla rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm
An Editorial: The state of HS sports and its a free country Dakota Softball 1 Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:27am
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW tcblue13 Softball 3 Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm
Hot in the North Country also WestMichBlue Softball 4 Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1