![]() |
|
|
|||
Who Is Allowed ???
Quote:
Help?? |
|
|||
to borrow from our friend Will
There is something wrong in the state of.... I dont think this wa Denmark though.. State of Confusion, State of Intoxication, ??? How can a scorer tell somone there is two left and have it be actually 0? I assume the scoreboard did not have the TOL lights? but still... I would query hard and long here to find the potential mistake... So we have a good idea of what's going on in the game I will ask... Most of the time I have a good idea of how many timeouts have been used, so I reverify... Just something fishy... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
TonyT,
I have two questions for you- A.Can you tell me whether the scorekeeper was an adult or student manager? B.Did the scorekeeper attempt at any point to inform the floor officials of timeouts remaining? I would also propose that the NF add a mechanic which requires official scorers to count down referees on # remaining after each timeout is called. We are required to signal time-outs called in volleyball and this situation has only happened to me once in three years of VB and never in five years of Basketball. |
|
|||
Thanks ...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Preventive officiating
Quote:
The officials in our area as a matter of course, always ask the scorer how many time outs a team has as we near the end of a game, then relay it to the coach. I always let a coach know when he/she only has one time out, sometimes even if they have 2 left in a close game. I view this as preventive action. Are you suggesting we NEVER tell a coach how many time out he has? I agree the OP was handled correctly given the facts presented, but it does make one wonder. wyo96 |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I wonder if refs who do the above also tell a coach how many fouls his best player has. ![]() |
|
|||
Not our responsibility...
to tell the coach how many time outs he/she has left till that amount reaches ZERO. This situation is the exact reason why it isn't our responsibility. I don't care how many they have left till it is zero.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Look at Casebook 5.8.3e
The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULE: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both team. |
|
|||
Is this a fair assessment...
The scorekeeper gave erroneous information to the officials who relayed the information to the coach in an effort to use 'preventative officiating'.
At some point after that, the scorekeeper made a change to their book which recorded a timeout by the team that was ultimately penalized. But, what we know for sure is that the scorekeeper failed to follow 2.11.6 Art. 6... Record the time-out information charged to each team (who and when) and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out. They did not notify the coach through the officials when they had used their last time out. Despite this failure by the scorekeeper, the team is assessed the technical foul for requesting (and being granted) a timeout when they had none available. Bottom line it just a "life is hard" moment for the team that is affected by this error. No recourse by rule. Correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
YOUR referee told me we had 1 time-out left. Later in the game when I called that time-out YOUR referee assessed a Technical foul against my team because YOUR referee then said there was a mistake and we really had 0 times-out left. Me, personally, this is how I handle times-out late in a game. If there are 2 books at the table I ask them if they both have the same time-out information. If there is a discrepency then we come to a resolution right there and then before the game proceeds. If there is only 1 book at the table then I ask for the time-out count for each team. I'm also peeking at the book at the same time to confirm what I'm being told is what is actually in the book. I do not relay the time-out count to coaches.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 29, 2008 at 09:19am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Sites I figure you've seen by now.... | OverAndBack | Football | 3 | Thu Aug 03, 2006 04:19pm |
Figure this one out | DrakeRaker | Basketball | 11 | Sat Jan 21, 2006 01:30pm |
Figure this one out! | Brian | Basketball | 4 | Mon Feb 21, 2000 04:18pm |