![]() |
|
|
|||
I was told this story, but I'm not 100% sure it is true. AAU game, Team A is thumping Team B by a large margin, 40 or more points. Late in the game, Team A is still pressing full court, lots of pressure, etc. Team B is attempting to inbound the ball, spot throw-in. Team A player (son of coach) is right in the inbounder's face putting pressure. Team B coach calls timeout. In timeout, he instructs his player to throw the ball as hard as he can at Team A player's face if he is still putting pressure on the throw-in. Team B player obliges, twice, supposedly bloodying the kid's nose. Team A coach looks at Team B coach after the second time and says, "I get it" and calls off the press. If you were officiating the game what would have been your response?
__________________
MajorCord |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
This relates only indirectly to the original post, but it was one of the funnier things I saw this season. I was watching the girls JV game before my game. There is a loose ball on the floor in the lane. A girl from the offensive team drops to her knees and secures the ball. Seeing that she has no one to pass to, she throws the ball off a defender's leg, intending to bounce it out of bounds.
Smart play! Except that she's not very good at geometry and the ball bounces directly back to her. Convinced that her strategy is a sound one, she is undaunted as she again throws the ball off the same defender's leg. Who would've guessed that the ball would again bounce directly back to her, still kneeling in the lane?!?! The official reluctantly called 3 seconds. |
|
|||
Oh Scrappy you just crack me up.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
There is a huge diffrence between this play and the one in the first post. If the team play good D and you can't get it in, it's just smart to throw it of the opponents leg. And since this is legal you can't do anything about it unless theplayer taking the throw-in is trying to hurt the defensive player like in the second case. But then you aldready know my answer...
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How many times? | rbrown | Softball | 2 | Sat May 05, 2007 09:57am |
HBP 3 times | LIIRISHMAN | Softball | 8 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:18am |
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? | UmpJM | Baseball | 7 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm |
NY Times Article | mikesears | Football | 13 | Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:10pm |
"Three times past the hip" | TwoBits | Softball | 1 | Wed May 01, 2002 12:46pm |