The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 25, 2008, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
This scenario happened Friday night (Feb 22) in a Class 5A game in the first round of the louisiana boys state playoffs. I went to the HL Bourgeois (Houma, LA) vs Southwood (Shreveport, LA) game as a spectator and here is the set up:

Three man crew (Baton Rouge, LA Association) Reff (R1) is a very senior guy, Umpire 1 (U1) is another senior guy and the third guy (U2) is a 2nd or 3rd year probably working his first Boys Playoff Game.

Southwood has the ball on their own baseline the inbounds spot is on the same side of their court as their bench, score is HL Bourgeois 68, Southwood 66, 1:36 left in the fourth. SW calls :30sec timeout, U2 administers TO at table, R1 has ball on the inbounds spot, U1 takes position on opposite lane during TO. Kid from SW checks in before the first horn, U2 acknowledges him. First horn sounds, SW and HLB take the floor, all ten players mingle and pass through U2 by the table. U2 counts 10 players then crosses the court to the C position, U1 comes up the floor to the trail in front of the table. As U2 leaves the table side, a kid from SW comes onto the court from the SW bench into the traffic of players heading to the baseline for the inbounds. U1/U2 do not see him and R1 is blocked by the players. SW sets up for their inbounds play, R1 looks at his crew, everything appears to be in order, R1 hands the SW player the ball and begins his count. the HLB coach is screaming 6 men on the court, the crowd picks it up and R1 blows his whistle. R1 and U1 count the players, realize that 6 SW players are on the court and then go to the table to confer. They rule official's correctable error, and because the ball was not inbounded, SW is allowed to take the extra man off and the HLB coach goes nuts because the ball was handed to SW for the inbounds and should have been considered "live." The R1 denies the HLB claim and the game is eventually won by HL Bourgeois, 75-68

It was a very crazy sequence of events
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 25, 2008, 11:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
This scenario happened Friday night (Feb 22) in a Class 5A game in the first round of the louisiana boys state playoffs. I went to the HL Bourgeois (Houma, LA) vs Southwood (Shreveport, LA) game as a spectator and here is the set up:

Three man crew (Baton Rouge, LA Association) Reff (R1) is a very senior guy, Umpire 1 (U1) is another senior guy and the third guy (U2) is a 2nd or 3rd year probably working his first Boys Playoff Game.

Southwood has the ball on their own baseline the inbounds spot is on the same side of their court as their bench, score is HL Bourgeois 68, Southwood 66, 1:36 left in the fourth. SW calls :30sec timeout, U2 administers TO at table, R1 has ball on the inbounds spot, U1 takes position on opposite lane during TO. Kid from SW checks in before the first horn, U2 acknowledges him. First horn sounds, SW and HLB take the floor, all ten players mingle and pass through U2 by the table. U2 counts 10 players then crosses the court to the C position, U1 comes up the floor to the trail in front of the table. As U2 leaves the table side, a kid from SW comes onto the court from the SW bench into the traffic of players heading to the baseline for the inbounds. U1/U2 do not see him and R1 is blocked by the players. SW sets up for their inbounds play, R1 looks at his crew, everything appears to be in order, R1 hands the SW player the ball and begins his count. the HLB coach is screaming 6 men on the court, the crowd picks it up and R1 blows his whistle. R1 and U1 count the players, realize that 6 SW players are on the court and then go to the table to confer. They rule official's correctable error, and because the ball was not inbounded, SW is allowed to take the extra man off and the HLB coach goes nuts because the ball was handed to SW for the inbounds and should have been considered "live." The R1 denies the HLB claim and the game is eventually won by HL Bourgeois, 75-68

It was a very crazy sequence of events
HLB HC is correct in stating ball had become "live" (at disposal of thrower-in).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Players on Court actuary77 Basketball 10 Mon Dec 03, 2007 09:22pm
9 players on the court at the end of the game. JRutledge Basketball 3 Sun Feb 27, 2005 12:08am
Six Players on the Court David M Basketball 18 Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:01pm
6 Players on the Court SamIAm Basketball 11 Tue Feb 17, 2004 02:13pm
6 players on the court - what would you do? theboys Basketball 55 Fri Dec 06, 2002 05:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1