The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Georgetown/Providence

Early in the first half:

Georgetown is going on a fast break, Providence player comes in and slaps the ball out keeping it in the playing court. The providence player who hit the ball goes out of bounds and establishes himself back inbounds and is the first to touch the ball, no violation. Then when he starts dribbling there is a violation called, I know it has something to do with when the dribble began but what is the correct ruling? Whatever the official said must of made sense to everyone because there was no arguement.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Not enough information to answer. The first part (up through "is the first to touch the ball, no violation") is legal.

If the player recovered and held the ball, then either he lifted the pivot foot before starting the dribble, or he dribbled the ball before recovering it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 20
Georgetown / Providence

The official told the coach that he could not be the last one to touch the ball, go out of bounds, then be the first to touch the ball inbounds. (Even though he had established himself inbounds before touching.)
__________________
GO HERD !!!!
Mark Michael
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
But that is not the correct ruling is it?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 05:10pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial
But that is not the correct ruling is it?
Of course that is not the correct ruling. This is not the NFL. And even in the NFL (or other levels of football) that is not automatically illegal.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Mon Feb 18, 2008 at 10:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 07:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,840
Another Myth Bites The Dust ....

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Is it possible, in the original post, that the official thought the player has possession before going out of bounds, and that after legally coming back in bounds, started a dribble, which was an illegal, or double dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Of course that is the correct ruling. This is not the NFL. And even in the NFL (or other levels of football) that is not automatically illegal.

Peace
Rule reference please.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Rule reference please.
He made a typo and left out the word "not."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSN
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins

If the player recovered and held the ball, then either he lifted the pivot foot before starting the dribble, or he dribbled the ball before recovering it.
That would be a controlled dribble, Bob? And not a slap to keep the ball inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 11:04pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkref
The official told the coach that he could not be the last one to touch the ball, go out of bounds, then be the first to touch the ball inbounds. (Even though he had established himself inbounds before touching.)
Were you sitting somewhere where you actually heard that being said???
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 19, 2008, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCityRef
That would be a controlled dribble, Bob? And not a slap to keep the ball inbounds.
Either a controlled dribble, or a catch and a "throw" inbounds followed by a recovery (so the "throw" becomes a dribble)..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nova vs Georgetown grunewar Basketball 83 Mon Mar 03, 2008 07:57pm
Ohio State & Georgetown All_Heart Basketball 45 Sun Jun 03, 2007 05:36am
Georgetown/UNC tomegun Basketball 4 Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:11pm
Providence/Tex game Dan_ref Basketball 29 Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:14pm
Virginia-Georgetown TGR Basketball 6 Mon Mar 20, 2000 09:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1