The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 01:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
True ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
In practice, most officials seem to lose count during a "loose ball scrum" (and, yes, I know that's an undefined term)
Good observation, and probalby true, maybe for good reason, even it is against the rules. Imagine that Team A is holding, passing, or dribbling the ball, in other words, in team control. The ball is tipped away by a defender, and the ball continues to be tipped back, and forth, like a pinball machine, between both Team A, and Team B, players, maybe for six or seven seconds. All eyes, except those of one of the officials, are watching this "scrum", fans, coaches, players, one official, scorekeeper, timekeeper, police officier, trainer, site director, priest (for Catholic schools), etc., for a possible travel, double dribble, foul, player control foul, out of bounds, held ball, etc., they're all anxiouslly awaiting the call, or noncall, as the ball is being tipped all over the place, when from far away a whistle blows, a hand is thrust into the air, and the other official yells, "three seconds". By rule, that official could, or would, be correct, but he or she, should be ready to take a lot of "heat" from half of the gym's attendance, and possibly, regarding the Team A coach, "Serve him a beverage: tea" © 2008 JugglingReferee

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 23, 2008 at 01:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
To summarize...

So just to summarize...

Snaqwells, good point on 3-seconds almost never being called if PC was required (unless someone who has the ball just camps in the lane).

So it seems like even though the rule says that when there is a loose ball, the 3-seconds rule still apply since team control hasn't ended, most people here think that it's against the INTENT of the rule to call that because (a) it doesn't advantage/disadvantage either team and (b) it will look bad. I agree with this to a certain extent.

But taking it further... what if the rule intends to do that, i.e. when there is a loose ball and Team A technically still has control, that no Team A player should be camping out in the lane. Maybe that's what coaches should be teaching and what we should be calling??? Am I completely off base here?

Maybe there needs to be a clarification of the rule, like how they did it for interrupted dribble and kicking recently.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 seconds on an FT A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 28 Wed Jan 30, 2008 04:38pm
10 seconds budjones05 Basketball 67 Thu Jan 04, 2007 02:38pm
Three Seconds DJ Basketball 41 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:35pm
Is it 3 seconds? dsturdy5 Basketball 3 Mon Mar 03, 2003 02:40am
3 Seconds? Back In The Saddle Basketball 2 Mon Jan 27, 2003 01:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1