Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77
Sorry to resurrect an old thread.
I read through all the replies and I just wanted to clarify one thing. I understand all the rules about when the 3-second rule should apply (i.e. front court status, team control, allowance for shooting motion, etc.)...
Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue?
|
Yout two statements are inconsistent.
PC is not a requirement for the three-seconds call, by rule.
In practice, most officials seem to lose count during a "loose ball scrum" (and, yes, I know that's an undefined term)