The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Mark, how do you interpret the following in 4-36-2:

b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

It seems to me that A is entitled to its free throw, so we go there. I also see no reason why the fact that this is a false double foul changes anything. Each foul carries its own penalty. The penlaty for the double technical portion of the foul is a technical foul to each player and then resumption at the POI which is the entitled free throw.

I also disagree that the POI causes more problems than it solves. Perhaps the rule needs to be more clearly worded, but if you simply look at POI as the point of interruption, any double foul becomes extremely easy to administer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q#34 Resumption of Play KSRef07 Basketball 64 Wed Oct 17, 2007 03:01pm
resumption of play palmettoref Basketball 28 Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:26am
Resumption of play Mendy Trent Basketball 6 Wed Oct 11, 2006 08:34am
Resumption of Play Advice golfdesigner Basketball 7 Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:27pm
Resumption of play?? ref4e Basketball 7 Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1