The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
http://scarletknights.com/news/release.asp?prID=6154

This article obviously debunks the assertion by the Times that the table @ Tennessee had no way to stop the clock.

It also implies that it is unlikely that one of the officials stopped the clock by pushing the button on the pack then starting it again by pushing the button again.

It certainly leads the reader to believe that the mistake must have come from the table, I.E the timer getting caught up in the moment and either anticipating a call or just flat out goofed. Either way it looks like this clock malfunction isn't a malfunction just the timer stopping starting the clock.

What stands out to me the most in this release is that they agree there was a foul but the foul happened after time had expired. Even so they fail to mention that if the Rutgers player would've never fouled then the shot by the Tennessee player, if it went in, would've been reviewed @ the monitor and more then likely would've not counted since she was clearly holding the ball with .2 left.

The Rutgers player didn't know that time had expired! Why pull the player down and commit a foul that would have to be called.

This whole situation is unfortunate for all parties involved. The Rutgers AD tries to pass some of the blame onto the officials for not reconstructing the play with a stop watch. The only time you reconstruct the play with a stop watch is if you have knowledge of a timing mistake.

I agree that there obviously is a timing mistake and that the foul happened after the expiration of time. I just can't IMO, fault the officials if they had no knowledge of the timing error. If they knew then the 2 who were @ the Monitor would've reconstructed the play. Those two officials are @ the top of the Women's game and have been on more big games then most. Therefore I have to believe that they had no idea that there was a timing error.

I would venture to guess that from this game and this play that there will be a change in our court-side monitor procedure.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Referee24.7
Also, consider this -- anything 0.3 and under has to be a tap for goal or otherwise disregarded -- when that foul was sounded, did the Tennessee player:

A) Have the ball in her hands or B) Did she release it?

If she released it and the ball goes through, even with the clock stopped at 0.2, that shot would be waved off being that you CANNOT have a shot at that time on the clock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Even so they fail to mention that if the Rutgers player would've never fouled then the shot by the Tennessee player, if it went in, would've been reviewed @ the monitor and more then likely would've not counted since she was clearly holding the ball with .2 left.
I'm not sure where these thoughts are coming from, as the rule involving not being able to shoot with 0.3 seconds left or less has to do only with a throw-in or FT (5-2-5). In other words, during a situation where the clock is already (legally) stopped for a throw-in or FT, the rule says you cannot "catch-and-shoot" with 0.3 sec. or less, you can only tap the ball in that amount of time.

Otherwise, during a live ball situation, the only requirement is that the ball be "clearly in flight" on a try or tap before the horn sounds. (5-6-2, exception 1).
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'm not sure where these thoughts are coming from, as the rule involving not being able to shoot with 0.3 seconds left or less has to do only with a throw-in or FT (5-2-5). In other words, during a situation where the clock is already (legally) stopped for a throw-in or FT, the rule says you cannot "catch-and-shoot" with 0.3 sec. or less, you can only tap the ball in that amount of time.

Otherwise, during a live ball situation, the only requirement is that the ball be "clearly in flight" on a try or tap before the horn sounds. (5-6-2, exception 1).
I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.
Because there is no such rule. Additinally, there is not even a suggestion that a player holding the ball can't get a shot off in 0.2. The rule you're referring to says they can't catch-hold-shoot in 0.3. You've got the player starting the catch at 0.4. How long does the catch take? Apparently, it can be short enough that from 0.4 to 0.0, there is time to shoot. You can't subdivide the 0.4 to say that any particular part of the action has to occur at a specific time.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.
What rule would you use to dis-allow the basket?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
What rule would you use to dis-allow the basket?
Again I didn't say by rule that you would automatically disallow the basket. I said more then likely in this play the basket wouldn't have been good. The TP is holding the ball on the floor with .2 on the clock. Either way if there wasn't a foul they would've been required by rule to go to the monitor if the basket was good in this play to either count or cancel.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Again I didn't say by rule that you would automatically disallow the basket. I said more then likely in this play the basket wouldn't have been good. The TP is holding the ball on the floor with .2 on the clock. Either way if there wasn't a foul they would've been required by rule to go to the monitor if the basket was good in this play to either count or cancel.
I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.
Dude....I know! I didn't say that they would be looking to see if the player was holding the ball. They would like, you said, be checking to see if it was in flight before 000's on the clock.

My point was that its just unlikly that if she is holding the ball on the floor with .2 that she's not getting the ball off before triple 000's. Thats all and nothing more.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.
Its not a matter if they should but by rule they MUST.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
[quote=Gimlet25id] Those two officials are @ the top of the Women's game and have been on more big games then most. Therefore I have to believe that they had no idea that there was a timing error.

If the aforementioned is true, IMO, it should not have been a timing error at all!!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
If the aforementioned is true, IMO, it should not have been a timing error at all!!
Your kidding right? I mean you've got to be joking! Are you saying that their not? How in the world can you say that the timing mistake is on them? Oh...wait a minute...I remember you think that "C's" sole responsibility is to make sure the running clock doesn't......

Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
I disagree, it's the C responsibility to ensure things go properly with the clock.

(2). The point I'm trying to make is this. If the C was monitoring the clock and observed that the clock STARTED; STOPPED; STARTED; STOPPED again; then we have a foul he/she have definite knowledge that the game should be over before the foul occurred. Game over!!
So if "C" would've been doing what you suggested then maybe, just maybe they would've caught that the running clock stopped, started, then ran out. So while "C" is doing this then who is watching to see if the shot is good or not? While center is eyeballing the clock who is referring "C's" area?

It's a good thing then, from your above quote, that you don't have anything to do with who is/isn't @ the top!! IMO!
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2008, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Your kidding right? I mean you've got to be joking! Are you saying that their not? How in the world can you say that the timing mistake is on them? Oh...wait a minute...I remember you think that "C's" sole responsibility is to make sure the running clock doesn't......



So if "C" would've been doing what you suggested then maybe, just maybe they would've caught that the running clock stopped, started, then ran out. So while "C" is doing this then who is watching to see if the shot is good or not? While center is eyeballing the clock who is referring "C's" area?

It's a good thing then, from your above quote, that you don't have anything to do with who is/isn't @ the top!! IMO!
Look Gim, is it ok if I call you Gim? Look we have both spoken and given our perspectives on the play. I'm moving on.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2008, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 662
Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
I look at it this way, until any of us are in that situation, we can sit here until we are blue in the face, saying the officials could have done this and should have done this.

However, I say until we are put into that situation this officiating crew were involved with, we will never know or say for sure how will or should have handle the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2008, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
None of this argument about whether or not the shot should be allowed speaks to the issue of the clock "pausing" for a fairly long time at .2 seconds. It appears the refs either didn't know that this happened, didn't notice it in the replays, or didn't feel authorized to address it. I'd be interested in hearing whether there are rules in the NCAA set that speak to this particular issue.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2008, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 662
Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
rainmaker,

Under NCAA Rule 2, Section 13, Articles 2 & 3. items 1-4 in art 2, and items A-C in art 3 deal and talk about what the officials can do when they use the replay monitor to what they can and cannot look for and rule on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another game ending sitch Blackhawk357 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm
Game ending controversy... rynodawg Baseball 31 Sat Sep 25, 2004 02:33pm
Tennessee-Baylor ending sphinxicu Basketball 162 Fri Apr 09, 2004 09:58pm
Game Ending BooBoo whiskers_ump Softball 4 Fri May 02, 2003 12:14pm
Tennessee-Louisiana game Jeremy Hohn Basketball 2 Sun Mar 19, 2000 09:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1