The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 02:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
I couldn't believe it!!!!

Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 02:22am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?
Did the officials award B the win?

My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Did the officials award B the win?
My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.
Yes, team b was awarded the win
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 06:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 08:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
No technical foul if only one defensive player is available. I'll hunt around and find the backing citation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which.

The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!)
If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces.
The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible.

Here's the ruling:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
> >
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 06:51am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Yes, team b was awarded the win
Then the officials did not know how to properly the rule and imho, cost A a real shot shot at being the game's winners.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
The decision made was totally wrong by rule. Team A definitely had a chance to win as they were leading the game! Team B could have missed the rest of its shots and failed to score. There is NO WAY that a reasonable person can contend that Team A doesn't have a chance to win that game.

I would expect the state association to overturn that decision and order the game to be finished from the point that the officials left.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 02:24am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
If he feels the team does not have a chance to win, then he can call the game at that point. I would have tried to see if they could win with one player. But that is a judgment call, but it does not sound like a good one by this particular official.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
The foul count is H-5 V-6.
This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpneck
This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?
Perhaps this team only started with five or six. When the OP wrote A12, I believe that he was indicating that 12 was the player's number, not that he was one of twelve individuals on that team.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpneck
This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?
smells like a fish -- unless they only had 5 players to begin with and all 3 fouled out in the first half.

also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball.

but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
smells like a fish -- unless they only had 5 players to begin with and all 3 fouled out in the first half.
All the players could have picked up 4 in the first half only to get their 5th in the 2nd.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball.

but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.
Why can't B inbound the ball? All it has to do is touch some player, not necessarily a teammate. They only need to throw it to a player on the other team. If the other team can't score, the team with 1 player wins.

I agree that this situation is not likely, but it is plausable.

If this were to ever happen to me, I'm not calling the game until the team with 1 player is down by a couple baskets.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 05:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
If this were to ever happen to me, I'm not calling the game until the team with 1 player is down by a couple baskets.

Give them a reasonable chance. Don't end it when it is tied or only a one-point game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1