![]() |
|
|
|||
I couldn't believe it!!!!
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.
Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6. This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game. Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3. Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court. Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game. Thoughts?
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!) If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces. The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible. Here's the ruling: 2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
The decision made was totally wrong by rule. Team A definitely had a chance to win as they were leading the game! Team B could have missed the rest of its shots and failed to score. There is NO WAY that a reasonable person can contend that Team A doesn't have a chance to win that game.
I would expect the state association to overturn that decision and order the game to be finished from the point that the officials left. |
|
|||
If he feels the team does not have a chance to win, then he can call the game at that point. I would have tried to see if they could win with one player. But that is a judgment call, but it does not sound like a good one by this particular official.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Link to media account of the story, please? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball. but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I agree that this situation is not likely, but it is plausable. If this were to ever happen to me, I'm not calling the game until the team with 1 player is down by a couple baskets.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Give them a reasonable chance. Don't end it when it is tied or only a one-point game. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|