The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
I also saw what I thought was a charge, but when they showed it again at another angle, It looked as if the defender may have slid in at the last second. Not having the electronic gizmos that let you replay it over and over, I will say the official either got it right or has gotten a call from his supervisor to discuss it.

At this level, along with great authority and great compensation, goes great accountability.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
He was moving...he didn't have his feet set....

Sin,
Coach


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
He was moving...he didn't have his feet set....

Sin,
Coach


This is definitely a classic coach/fan misconception. There is NO requirement for a defender to have his/her feet set in order for a charge (player control foul) to occur.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja
This is definitely a classic coach/fan misconception. There is NO requirement for a defender to have his/her feet set in order for a charge (player control foul) to occur.
Mostly that's true. In order to establish LGP the defender must have his feet "set" at some point, for a brief amount of time. But mostly yes, you're right.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 12:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Mostly that's true. In order to establish LGP the defender must have his feet "set" at some point, for a brief amount of time. But mostly yes, you're right.
That is not true. You must have two feet on the floor and facing your opponent, there is nothing about being feet being set.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
That is not true. You must have two feet on the floor and facing your opponent, there is nothing about being feet being set.

Peace
Didn't you just state the definition of set as it is commonly used? Getting set is establishing LGP with 2 feet on the floor, facing opponent. After obtaining LGP the "set" requirement is no longer required. I understand we should use the term LGP but most coaches still understand set better than LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:17pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Killian
Didn't you just state the definition of set as it is commonly used? Getting set is establishing LGP with 2 feet on the floor, facing opponent. After obtaining LGP the "set" requirement is no longer required. I understand we should use the term LGP but most coaches still understand set better than LGP.
Red,

Go back and read what I was responding to. BITS was talking about "establishing LGP." Establishing and maintaining are two different things.

And yes, I use LGP when talking to coaches. If they do not understand what that means, that is there problem.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Killian
Didn't you just state the definition of set as it is commonly used? Getting set is establishing LGP with 2 feet on the floor, facing opponent. After obtaining LGP the "set" requirement is no longer required. I understand we should use the term LGP but most coaches still understand set better than LGP.
We are starting to lose the point here. Granted, if both feet are touching the floor, they are set for at least an instance. The point really is can a defender be moving (not have feet set) and still draw a player control foul. The answer is absolutely yes. I cry uncle on the very minor side issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
I second JR's point that the only requirements for establishing legal guarding position per rule 4-23-2 are
a The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guards's torso must be facing the opponent.

Again, there is NO requirement for the feet to be set in order for a player control foul to occur. For the coach's benefit consider these examples.

a. defender at top of key with lgp and steps straight back towards foul line. While defender is moving dribbler impacts defender in chest with dribblers shoulder. -- player control foul

b. defender is stationary with legal guarding position (lgp) as dribbler rapidly approaches, at last second, before severe impact, defender turns slightly (and shuffles feet) in order to protect self -- player control foul

c. defender is moving along with dribbler toward dribbler's basket when dribbler sharply changes direction and impacts defender in torso - player control foul
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
I also saw what I thought was a charge, but when they showed it again at another angle, It looked as if the defender may have slid in at the last second. Not having the electronic gizmos that let you replay it over and over, I will say the official either got it right or has gotten a call from his supervisor to discuss it.

At this level, along with great authority and great compensation, goes great accountability.
Was the offensive player airborne? Unles he was airborne, whether or not he slid in at the last second is irrelevant.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic..... Bassman Baseball 25 Wed Aug 01, 2007 09:01pm
Fox 40 - Classic & CMG. I wish.... refnrev Basketball 12 Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:57pm
ESPN Classic Nevadaref Basketball 5 Wed Mar 15, 2006 06:14am
ESPN Classic Nevadaref Basketball 4 Fri Apr 11, 2003 11:30am
ESPN Classic sharkref Basketball 1 Sat Feb 08, 2003 03:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1