The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2008, 11:29pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And according to the NFHS interp cited in post #52 you'd be completely wrong. So let's not go down the path of personal interpretations, use of 2-3, spirit and intent, or common sense. In this thread we are striving to determine what is the specific NFHS ruling.
The interp you cite does not match this situation. As far as I know up to this point, there is no specific NFHS ruling for this situation. All that leaves is personal interpretation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Excuse me? I've cited a rule and two play rulings that state that the team member is not an eligible substitute.
No you haven't.

You've cited a rule that say an injured player may stay in the game only if a timeout is taken...and must sit out if not. It goes on to say that say that the team MAY continue with four and further says that the injured player may reenter later.

You've cited another that says a sub becomes a player even if the entry is illegal when the ball become live. The case really has nothing to do with why the entry is illegal...just that it becomes legal when the ball becomes live.

Neither case comprehends the situation where a team has 5 players on the court and one becomes unable to play (injured/DQ'd) when a 6th player is on the bench haveing been removed from the game just before the injury/DQ (without the clock starting).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So the real question is do you have some citation that says otherwise? You and MTD are the ones who need to prove that the substitution rule can be set aside for your specific instance.
I'm not setting aside a rule, I'm resolving the conflict between two rules by selecting one when you're selecting the other. You've yet to show me why my priority is invalid and yours is valid.

I've made my choice on common sense and examination of the implications and intents of the rules and have provided a concrete and clear example of why your personal interpratation can't work. I have just as much authority to bring in the 5th player in every case not countered by a specific example...and that is only once case (where the remaining player is injured and the team choose not to take a timeout to keep them in). The rules require that a team play with 5 if the team has 5 players.

Here are to cases that are just as relevant...
Case 3.1.1 NUMBER OF PLAYERS REQUIRED....Team B must have five players participating as long as it has that number available.

Case 3.2B [designated starter]....A1 may be replaced without penalty as illness or injury is considered to be an extenuating and unavoidable situation which permits a substitution.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jul 30, 2008 at 12:17am.
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 01:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
You've cited a rule that say an injured player may stay in the game only if a timeout is taken...and must sit out if not. It goes on to say that say that the team MAY continue with four and further says that the injured player may reenter later.
Yep, I've cited an NFHS ruling that the substitution rules takes priority over having five players on the court. You and MTD claim the exact opposite. Sorry, but you're wrong.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
You've cited another that says a sub becomes a player even if the entry is illegal when the ball become live. The case really has nothing to do with why the entry is illegal...just that it becomes legal when the ball becomes live.
How can you debate this issue if you miss the very reason that I cited that case play? So let me spell it out for you. I didn't cite 3.3.3 Situation B because it tells us that an illegally entered team member becomes a player when the ball becomes live, I cited it because it tells us that a player who has just subbed out is NOT an eligible substitute until the clock runs. The NFHS, not me, is defining that team member as NOT eligible at this time. The play ruling tells us that the officials mistakenly allowed A1 to return. They should not have done that and neither should you. How much clearer can that be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Neither case comprehends the situation where a team has 5 players on the court and one becomes unable to play (injured/DQ'd) when a 6th player is on the bench haveing been removed from the game just before the injury/DQ (without the clock starting).
Is that 6th TEAM MEMBER on the bench an eligible substitute? NO. Refer to 3.3.3 Sit B. Therefore, he can't come in right now, so forget about him.

Can a team continue with only four because a player became injured when there were no substitutes available? Yes. Refer to 2002-03 NFHS Interp #5.

So why is it so hard for you to understand the proper ruling? Get the injured player to the bench and unless the team takes a time-out to allow him to recover and keep him in the game, the contest will continue 5 v 4 until the next substitution opportunity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I'm not setting aside a rule, I'm resolving the conflict between two rules by selecting one when you're selecting the other. You've yet to show me why my priority is invalid and yours is valid.
Yep, that is exactly what you are doing and you are selecting the wrong rule. I've told you before, and I just showed you again in this very post that when the rule about five on the court conflicts with the substitution rules that the NFHS has ruled to uphold the substitution restrictions. It's not me picking, it's the NFHS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I've made my choice on common sense and examination of the implications and intents of the rules and have provided a concrete and clear example of why your personal interpratation can't work. I have just as much authority to bring in the 5th player in every case not countered by a specific example...and that is only once case (where the remaining player is injured and the team choose not to take a timeout to keep them in). The rules require that a team play with 5 if the team has 5 players.


Here are to cases that are just as relevant...
Case 3.1.1 NUMBER OF PLAYERS REQUIRED....Team B must have five players participating as long as it has that number available.

Case 3.2B [designated starter]....A1 may be replaced without penalty as illness or injury is considered to be an extenuating and unavoidable situation which permits a substitution.

Exactly why THE RULES AS WRITTEN should be followed and we should not be resorting to "common sense." What one individual thinks is common sense another may find absurd. Again it's not my personal interp, the ruling comes straight from the NFHS.
You don't have "just as much authority" to bring in the fifth player. The NFHS says to apply the substitution provision and make that team member sit out for the time being.
You can cite all of the rules that you wish, but you are falling into the same trap as MTD in believing that five on the court trumps the substitution restrictions. It does not. Not because I say so, but because the NFHS has said so.
I've done my best to piece it together for you and give you the play rulings from analogous situations, but you just refuse to see the light and instead continue to drink MTD's Kool-aid and declare it to be a merlot.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 01:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The interp you cite does not match this situation. As far as I know up to this point, there is no specific NFHS ruling for this situation. All that leaves is personal interpretation.
One has to be able to put two and two together and get four. The NFHS can't write out a play ruling for every possible situation with every exact detail. If they attempted to do it that way the case book would be larger than the encyclopedia.

If one takes the similar interps and play rulings of the NFHS and puts them together, one can easily deduce how the NFHS wants the situation to be handled. That's not called personal interpretation. That's called reason and logic.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 02:17am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
3.2 SITUATION B: A1, who is designated as a starter 10 minutes prior to the scheduled starting time of the game, becomes ill or is injured before the game starts.

RULING: A1 may be replaced without penalty as illness or injury is considered to be an extenuating and unavoidable situation which permits a substitution.


This is as least as relevant as the above mentioned 3.3.3.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 02:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yep, I've cited an NFHS ruling that the substitution rules takes priority over having five players on the court. You and MTD claim the exact opposite. Sorry, but you're wrong.
No you haven't. You've only cited one such case...where the 5th player is the injured player...you're extrapolating to a new case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
How can you debate this issue if you miss the very reason that I cited that case play? So let me spell it out for you. I didn't cite 3.3.3 Situation B because it tells us that an illegally entered team member becomes a player when the ball becomes live, I cited it because it tells us that a player who has just subbed out is NOT an eligible substitute until the clock runs. The NFHS, not me, is defining that team member as NOT eligible at this time. The play ruling tells us that the officials mistakenly allowed A1 to return. They should not have done that and neither should you. How much clearer can that be?
The problem with your entire premise is that 3.3.3B is in a section titled illegal entry....not a section on subtitution. It's conclusion clearly notes that it is not a correctable error and their is no provision for a penalty for the illegal entry. You're simply reading a meaning into the case that is not the point of the case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

Is that 6th TEAM MEMBER on the bench an eligible substitute? NO. Refer to 3.3.3 Sit B. Therefore, he can't come in right now, so forget about him.
Again. 3.3.3B is not talking about who is or is not an eligible sub. It's sole point is that a player who enters illegally is legal when the ball becomes live. Period.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Can a team continue with only four because a player became injured when there were no substitutes available? Yes. Refer to 2002-03 NFHS Interp #5.

So why is it so hard for you to understand the proper ruling? Get the injured player to the bench and unless the team takes a time-out to allow him to recover and keep him in the game, the contest will continue 5 v 4 until the next substitution opportunity.
I agree in that case....as demonstated in Sit. 5. But that is not the case we're talking about. It doesn't define that a 6th player is unavailable....there were only 5 players to start.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yep, that is exactly what you are doing and you are selecting the wrong rule. I've told you before, and I just showed you again in this very post that when the rule about five on the court conflicts with the substitution rules that the NFHS has ruled to uphold the substitution restrictions. It's not me picking, it's the NFHS.
You have shown no such thing....only that the specific injured player can't return. It makes no mention or even implication regarding other situations. In fact, I cited a case that says to ignore the starter/substitution rules in the event of a subsequent injury.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Exactly why THE RULES AS WRITTEN should be followed and we should not be resorting to "common sense." What one individual thinks is common sense another may find absurd. Again it's not my personal interp, the ruling comes straight from the NFHS.
Common sense is the tool used to understand what is written, not in place of it. Try it out. Extend your understanding of the NFHS rule to see if it makes sense. If it leads to an absurd result, you may wish to revisit what you think is being said. Your interpretation can lead to in impassible situation. As a result, it is ,at a mimumum, suspect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You don't have "just as much authority" to bring in the fifth player. The NFHS says to apply the substitution provision and make that team member sit out for the time being.
I'm still waiting for the citation that supports your claim any stronger than the one I've cited that says to ignore the substitution rule when there is an unforseeable injury that complicates the situation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You can cite all of the rules that you wish, but you are falling into the same trap as MTD in believing that five on the court trumps the substitution restrictions. It does not. Not because I say so, but because the NFHS has said so.
I've done my best to piece it together for you and give you the play rulings from analogous situations, but you just refuse to see the light and instead continue to drink MTD's Kool-aid and declare it to be a merlot.
And I've shown you equally valid citations and have even give you examples where your ruling falls apart.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jul 30, 2008 at 02:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 05:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
One has to be able to put two and two together and get four. The NFHS can't write out a play ruling for every possible situation with every exact detail. If they attempted to do it that way the case book would be larger than the encyclopedia.

If one takes the similar interps and play rulings of the NFHS and puts them together, one can easily deduce how the NFHS wants the situation to be handled. That's not called personal interpretation. That's called reason and logic.
Naw, that's called a load of boolsh!t.

As JAR said, the play isn't definitively covered under the rules. That doesn't stop ONE from proclaiming to the masses that HIS way is the only true way.

You may end up being right if we ever do get an definitive answer from the FED on this. But no matter how many times before then you proclaim that it's ONE's "reason and logic" and therefore it must be right, that still doesn't make it fact at the present moment.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
3.2 SITUATION B: A1, who is designated as a starter 10 minutes prior to the scheduled starting time of the game, becomes ill or is injured before the game starts.

RULING: A1 may be replaced without penalty as illness or injury is considered to be an extenuating and unavoidable situation which permits a substitution.


This is as least as relevant as the above mentioned 3.3.3.
Are there eligible substitutes available to take A1's place in the starting line-up? If so, then there is no problem. The situation doesn't pose a conflict between playing with five and bringing in a team member who is NOT eligible. It simply allows someone who is eligible to enter.

All that your play ruling tells us is that a substitution is permissible for an ill or injured starter when there is an eligible substitute available. That's not shocking. That doesn't help resolve any issues.

Now what do you do if there aren't any eligible substitutes around? That would be a relevant play ruling. BTW I believe that you can't start the game.
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Are there eligible substitutes available to take A1's place in the starting line-up? If so, then there is no problem. The situation doesn't pose a conflict between playing with five and bringing in a team member who is NOT eligible. It simply allows someone who is eligible to enter.

All that your play ruling tells us is that a substitution is permissible for an ill or injured starter when there is an eligible substitute available. That's not shocking. That doesn't help resolve any issues.

Now what do you do if there aren't any eligible substitutes around? That would be a relevant play ruling. BTW I believe that you can't start the game.
The whole point is the philosophy presented in this play...that a subsequent injury makes a substitution legal that was not legal prior to the injury.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 117
Just make sure that whatever you guys decide, call it both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 05:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2Koach
Just make sure that whatever you guys decide, call it both ways.
...and consistently.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The whole point is the philosophy presented in this play...
Oh, so now you are willing to look at the philosophy and principle presented in the play ruling, but you aren't willing to consider those points from the play rulings that I cited. Very fair-minded of you.
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Oh, so now you are willing to look at the philosophy and principle presented in the play ruling, but you aren't willing to consider those points from the play rulings that I cited. Very fair-minded of you.
Hardly. One is directly and explicitly commenting on the principle/philosophy of the ruling and the other is a situation that merely a has some elements in common....and you're adding your philosophy to it. Try again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 11:53am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,120
Mary Struckhoff reply.

I received an email from Mary Struckhoff at 09:02amEDT this morning. Below is the letter.

"Mark,

I do not address question posted on forums or in chat rooms. As you know, the procedure is for officials to get rules interpretations from their respective state association offices.

However, that question has been asked and answered several times already by this office and is included as a new case book play in this year’s book (see below).

*8.2 SITUATION B: A1 is fouled and will be shooting two free throws. After A1’s first free-throw attempt, B6 (Team B’s only remaining eligible substitute) replaces B2. A1’s second free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. During rebounding action for A1’s missed second free-throw attempt, and before the clock starts, A1 pushes B3 in the back causing B3 to roll an ankle. Team B is in the bonus. B3 is unable to immediately continue playing. Team B requests and is granted a time out in order to allow B3 to recover from the ankle injury so as to remain in the game. B3 is still not able to play after the time out has ended. RULING: B2 may return to the game and replace B3 and shoot B3’s free throw attempts despite having been replaced since he/she is the only available substitute. (3-3-4)

Mary Struckhoff

NFHS Assistant Director

Basketball Rules Editor/National Interpreter"


Camron, we have been vindicated. The Casebook Play is identical to the play that I submitted to her and I do not even get any credit for it.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Jul 31, 2008 at 11:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 12:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Well, that pretty well covers it, then.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
injured free throw shooter deecee Basketball 3 Mon Jan 22, 2007 07:43pm
Free Throw Shooter All_Heart Basketball 4 Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:17am
Distracting Free Throw Shooter yukonmiller Basketball 14 Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:12am
unknown free throw shooter MPLAHE Basketball 9 Sun Jan 16, 2005 09:27pm
Free Throw Shooter champ Basketball 3 Mon Dec 13, 2004 09:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1