The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to RCBSports
Cool Tips for New Ref?

Well, I found this forum and I was glad I found it. I love this. My name is Luke and I am 16. I am not an OFFICIAL referee due to my age, have to be 18.

Anyway, I am allowed to do any scrimmages, community leagues, etc. Just not actual games.

Anyway, I have been doing community leagues, like the YMCA for three years now and I am loving refereeing more and more everyday. I was wondering though, if you guys had any pointers, suggestions, tips, etc to help me become better so when I start out, I can get noticed by the official board and start getting more games?!?!

Let me know,

Thanks.
WVSSAC - MonValley Referee
Little League Baseball Umpire Coordinator
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCBSports
Well, I found this forum and I was glad I found it. I love this. My name is Luke and I am 16. I am not an OFFICIAL referee due to my age, have to be 18.

Anyway, I am allowed to do any scrimmages, community leagues, etc. Just not actual games.

Anyway, I have been doing community leagues, like the YMCA for three years now and I am loving refereeing more and more everyday. I was wondering though, if you guys had any pointers, suggestions, tips, etc to help me become better so when I start out, I can get noticed by the official board and start getting more games?!?!

Let me know,

Thanks.
Invest in a rule book and frequent this board often.

These are a few tips I have learned since I became a member:
Do not purchase a shirt with a collar.
Always tuck your whistle when you pee.
Develop thick skin

Welcome aboard
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:

Let me know,

Thanks.
Luke,