The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Because they watch the NBA where it is BI. Rule 11, Section I - i. http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_11...av=ArticleList
That and it does seem a little inconsistent....B1 slaps the backboard in a "legitimate" attempt to block the shot, and causes the backboard (and attached ring) to vibrate, no call...B1 grabs the ring and pulls down it in causing the ring to vibrate, you can have BI......both cases the ring vibrates, but only one is BI...I was one of those who had this misconception, but am now straightened out, but I sympathize!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Grabbing the rim and BI have nothing to do with the rim vibrating.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Grabbing the rim and BI have nothing to do with the rim vibrating.
I thought there was a caseplay where B1 pulls the rim down and releases it causing it to vibrate during the attempt resulting in BI...anyone? I don't have my casebook..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
What if the ball is in on the rim ... the attempt to block the shot causes the entire structure to shake and ball fails to go through the hoop ... what do you have here?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
What if the ball is in on the rim ... the attempt to block the shot causes the entire structure to shake and ball fails to go through the hoop ... what do you have here?
nothin'

And really, how often does this actually happen? I can't say I've EVER seen it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
nothin'

And really, how often does this actually happen? I can't say I've EVER seen it.
I can't say I have ever seen it either ... but I have had a lot of partners who have!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I can't say I have ever seen it either ... but I have had a lot of partners who have!
LOL!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Partners from the Lead position too!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
What if the ball is in on the rim ... the attempt to block the shot causes the entire structure to shake and ball fails to go through the hoop ... what do you have here?
If it was a legitimate attempt to block the shot, then I have nothing. If it was an intentional slap to bring attention to himself, then I have a T. What happens to the ball simply does not matter.

There is no rules support for awarding 2 points for BI.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
I thought there was a caseplay where B1 pulls the rim down and releases it causing it to vibrate during the attempt resulting in BI...anyone? I don't have my casebook..
I was referring to the rim returning to it's normal position, which is different than hitting it and causing it to vibrate.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Jan 07, 2008 at 02:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 06:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Another Myth Bites The Dust

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
Not exactly. While safety absolves a player from getting a technical foul for hanging on the rim, it does not eliminate the possibility of basket interference (or goal tending if the ball bounces on their hand as it is partly in the cylinder on it's inintial descent).

A2 grabs the rim while in the process of missing a dunk....officials judges that B1 is right under A2 and does not call a T. A1 taps the ball in. A2 is still hanging on the rim when A1's shot bounces on the rim....BI.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Thanks guys. I will change my ways. In both situations the player was not making an attempt to block the ball, therefore the tech was correct. The BI was not.
__________________
"The more you sweat in times of peace, the less you bleed during war." - Paton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Grabbing the rim and BI have nothing to do with the rim vibrating.
Found what I was looking for cb play 9.11.4 where the shot strikes a vibrating ring that was caused by B2 pulling down on the rim to avoid injury, you no tech (to avoid injury), but you have BI.....never seen it, but it could happen...

What this play doesn't discuss though is what if B2 pulled down on the rim intentionally and the shot struck the rim while it was vibrating? You'd have the tech for sure, but would you still count the goal for BI in this case too?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Found what I was looking for cb play 9.11.4 where the shot strikes a vibrating ring that was caused by B2 pulling down on the rim to avoid injury, you no tech (to avoid injury), but you have BI.....never seen it, but it could happen...

What this play doesn't discuss though is what if B2 pulled down on the rim intentionally and the shot struck the rim while it was vibrating? You'd have the tech for sure, but would you still count the goal for BI in this case too?
You can have both BI (for violation 4-6-4) and a T. Note that this rule was jsut added a couple of years ago and has nothing to do with the OP or any other cause of the ring "vibrating"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket interference, T or nothing? kycat1 Basketball 28 Tue Jan 23, 2007 09:13am
Basket Interference??? FrankHtown Basketball 7 Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm
Basket Interference or not?? ref18 Basketball 3 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm
Basket Interference cford Basketball 5 Fri Jan 21, 2005 02:35pm
BASKET INTERFERENCE & T ? johnfox Basketball 5 Fri Feb 21, 2003 01:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1